Skip to main content

Situation Update 1

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management

Situation Update 1

May 18, 2019 – 5:45 p.m.


As a result of impacts from severe weather across the state Friday and Saturday, the State Emergency Operations Center is activated. The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) remains in contact with emergency managers across the state and coordinating with agencies and organizations including the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Oklahoma Corporation Commission, Oklahoma State Department of Health, Oklahoma National Guard Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Oklahoma Insurance Department, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality, National Weather Service, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Oklahoma American Red Cross, the Salvation Army, Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief and the Oklahoma Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster.


Coal County Emergency Management reports storm damage to the Natural Gas Plant on old Highway 75 near Coalgate. Multiple vehicles and shipping containers were blown over. Trees and metal storage buildings were damaged.

Comanche County Emergency Management reports tornado damage near the town of Geronimo. Two homes were destroyed and a number of trees and powerlines are down.

Hughes County Emergency Management reports damage to trees, storage buildings and sheds in Calvin.

Oklahoma City Emergency Management reports five homes were damaged, four due to lightning. Flash flooding occurred on low-lying roadways. Flights at Will Rogers International Airport were temporarily diverted and delayed and river ferry service was suspended.

Payne County Emergency Management reports storm damage in Ingalls and east of Stillwater. In Ingalls, damage to farmland and trees is reported. Damage east of Stillwater includes a destroyed detached garage and tree damage.

Pittsburg County Emergency Management reports damage in McAlester and Krebs, including trees, power poles, and signage down. Volunteer fire departments are working to clear trees and debris off of roads.

Rogers County Emergency Management reports two homes received minor damage and six barns were heavily damaged. Extensive tree damage is also reported.


According to the Oklahoma State Department of Health, 2 injuries have been reported by area hospitals.


Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management is asking residents impacted by the recent storms to report damages to their property at or by calling 211. Reporting damage helps local and state emergency managers better coordinate response and recovery efforts. Residents can report damage to homes, businesses or agriculture through the online survey.


The Oklahoma Corporation Commission reports 7,732 outages statewide.

OG&E - TOTAL: 2,784

Poteau: 1734
Oklahoma City: 649
Arkoma: 157
Spiro: 97
Moore: 92
Caddo: 55

PSO - TOTAL: 2,359

Pittsburg County: 1,434
Grady County: 409
Choctaw County: 247
Le Flore County: 76
Mayes County: 67
Tulsa County: 59

Kiamichi Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 1,017

Latimer County: 1
Le Flore County: 1,016


Le Flore County: 557

Choctaw Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 514

Choctaw County: 4
Le Flore County: 76
McCurtain County: 389
Pushmataha County: 45

Northeast Oklahoma Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 470

Craig County: 8
Delaware County: 25
Mayes County: 437

People's Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 31

Pontotoc County: 31


A State of Emergency remains in effect for 66 Oklahoma counties due to severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding that began in April. Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

The counties included in the declaration are: Adair, Alfalfa, Atoka,Beckham,Bryan,Caddo,Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek,Custer,Delaware, Dewey, Garvin, Grady, Greer, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, and Woods.

DIAL 211

For Oklahoma residents seeking non-emergency disaster or health and human service information, please contact your local 2-1-1. Services are available 24 hours a day by dialing 2-1-1 from your home or cellular telephone. Please only call 911 for emergencies.


Back to Top