Skip to main content

Situation Update

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management

Situation Update 1

April 22, 2020 – 7:45 p.m.


As a result of severe weather in southern Oklahoma today, the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) is in contact with emergency managers in the affected areas and is coordinating with agencies and organizations including the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Oklahoma Corporation Commission, Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality,Oklahoma State Department of Health, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Oklahoma Insurance Department, National Weather Service, American Red Cross, and others. The State Emergency Operations Center remains activated due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.


Madill Emergency Management reports a tornado in Madill at approximately 5 p.m. The tornado damaged at least 12 homes, businesses and power lines. The Oklahoma Highway Patrol confirms one fatality. The American Red Cross is providing canteen services to responders and will provide hotel rooms to residents who have been displaced.

OEM staff are on site in Madill to support local emergency management.

Storms began earlier today along I-35 moving east. Additional damage may have occurred in other areas. Damage assessments are ongoing.


Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management is asking residents impacted by today’s storms to report damages to their property at Reporting damage helps local and state emergency managers better coordinate response and recovery efforts. Residents can report damage to homes, businesses or agriculture through the online survey.


Oklahoma Corporation Commission reports 7,167 outages statewide as of 7 p.m.

OG&E - Total 3,660

Madill: 2,365

Durant: 769

Ardmore: 295

OKC: 109

Muskogee: 64

Carrier: 58

PSO - Total 492

Tulsa County: 35

Johnston County: 354

Coal County: 77

Atoka County: 22

Canadian Valley Electric Cooperative, Inc. - Total 510 

Lincoln County: 1

Pottawatomie County: 25

Seminole County: 484 

Cookson Hills Electric Cooperative, Inc. – Total 58

Sequoyah County: 58

Red River Valley Rural Electric Association – Total 1,915

Carter County: 47

Marshall County: 1,852

Canadian Valley Electric Cooperative, Inc. – Total 510

Pottawatomie County: 25

Seminole County: 484

Rural Electric Cooperative, Inc. Total - 214

Garvin County: 214

Kiamichi Electric Cooperative, Inc. – Total 148

Pittsburg County: 148

People's Electric Cooperative – Total - 130

Johnston County: 109

Cookson Hills Electric Cooperative, Inc. – Total 58

Sequoyah County: 58

Lake Region Electric Cooperative, Inc. – Total 28

Cherokee County: 28

DIAL 211

For Oklahoma residents seeking non-emergency disaster or health and human service information, please contact your local 2-1-1. Services are available 24 hours a day by dialing 2-1-1 from your home or cellular telephone. Please only call 911 for emergencies.


Back to Top