Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105


Gov. Henry Requests Federal Public Assistance for 17 Counties in Wake of Severe Storms, Flooding

Oklahoma City – Gov. Brad Henry today requested that President Obama grant public assistance for 17 Oklahoma counties in the aftermath of severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that battered parts of the state between April 25 and May 16.

The counties included are: Alfalfa, Cherokee, Choctaw, Craig, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Grant, Jefferson, Love, Major, Mayes, Nowata, Rogers, Tillman, Wagoner and Woods. More counties can be added to the request as additional information becomes available.

“Heavy rainfall, severe storms and flooding this spring have caused significant damages in these counties, particularly to roads and bridges.” Gov. Henry said. “Federal assistance is needed and warranted, and I hope President Obama will act quickly to approve the request.”

If approved, the designation would deliver federal funding to assist cities, towns and counties with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with the storms.

The storms caused an estimated $5.2 million in damages in the 17 counties.


Back to Top