Skip to main content

Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105


Gov. Henry Declares Emergency Disaster Declaration For All 77 Oklahoma Counties in Wake of Ice Storm

Oklahoma City -- With much of Oklahoma being impacted by an ice storm, Gov. Brad Henry today declared a State of Emergency for all 77 counties in the state.

“Oklahomans know all too well that severe winter weather possesses serious challenges to everything from roads and power lines to debris removal, and so it is important that we be prepared for the worst,” the Governor said.

The executive order marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary. Additionally, the executive order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions.

The Governor also issued an executive order aimed at helping utility crews handle storm-related repairs, allowing a 30-day waiver on permit requirements for use of overweight and oversized vehicles.

In the meantime, Gov. Henry is in close contact with state emergency management officials to determine the needs of areas impacted by the storm.

The Governor urged Oklahomans to be careful and cautious in the midst of the storm.

“I would urge motorists to slow down or, better yet, stay off the roads if they can,” the Governor said.


Back to Top