Skip to main content

Disaster Recovery Center to Open in McIntosh County

Oklahoma City – A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open in Checotah on Saturday, Feb. 4, and serve applicants for federal and state disaster assistance through Wednesday, Feb. 8. A second DRC continues to operate in Garvin County.

McIntosh County

Feb. 4 through Feb. 8

Checotah Senior Citizens/Comm. Center 

611 North Broadway Street

Checotah, OK 74426

To serve applicants from: McIntosh, Muskogee, Okmulgee and Pittsburg counties

Daily: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Sun, 2/05, 12 noon to 4 p.m.

Garvin County

Feb. 1 through Feb. 5

4-H Building, Garvin Co. Fairgrounds

1401 North Willow Street

Pauls Valley, OK 73075

To serve applicants from: Carter, Garvin, Murray, Pontotoc and Pottawatomie counties

Daily: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Sun, 2/5, 12 noon to 4 p.m.

DRCs provide disaster registrants in the areas they are serving with an opportunity to check on the status of their applications and meet with federal and state disaster program specialists, as well as loan representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration. Also present are representatives from the United States Department of Agriculture and the Internal Revenue service.

Those impacted by wildfires are urged to register for assistance first by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1‑800‑462‑7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. After applying, people with questions may visit any center now open and meet face-to-face with recovery specialists.

Homeowners, renters and business owners must still register with FEMA for federal and state disaster assistance even if they have also registered with volunteer and community organizations.

Applicants may also register online by going to the FEMA website at and clicking on the button in the upper right-hand portion of the page marked “Register for Disaster Assistance Online.”

Back to Top