Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry

State of Oklahoma

State Capitol - Oklahoma City OK 73105



Feds Approve Flood Aid for June, July Storms

(Oklahoma City) Federal authorities today approved both individual and public assistance for a number of counties hard hit by severe weather earlier this summer, according to Gov. Brad Henry. The disaster declaration in question addresses damages incurred from June 10 to July 25.

Approved for individual assistance are the counties of Atoka, Caddo, Coal, Creek, Delaware, Garfield, Garvin, Kay, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Marshall, Mayes, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pushmataha, Washita and Woods. With this announcement, a total of 39 counties have been now approved for individual assistance under this declaration.

Approved for public assistance are the 41 counties of Alfalfa, Atoka, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Choctaw, Coal, Craig, Creek, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Harper, Jackson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Love, McCurtain, Major, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pushmataha, Rogers, Sequoyah, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

Under a disaster declaration for public assistance, local governments are eligible to receive aid for repairs of public infrastructure such as roads and bridges and other costs incurred in responding to the storms.

Under an individual assistance designation, residents are eligible for housing repairs or temporary housing, disaster unemployment assistance and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. Low-interest loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are also available for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property.

“The latest federal aid will be a great help to the counties in question and is very much appreciated,” said Gov. Henry. “We will continue to push for assistance in other areas that were hard hit by storms and flooding.”

The Governor has also requested disaster aid for farmers and ranchers in all 77 counties.


Back to Top