Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry

State of Oklahoma

State Capitol - Oklahoma City OK 73105



Governor Henry Declares State of Emergency in Wake of Storms

(Oklahoma City) In the wake of severe storms across the state, Gov. Brad Henry today declared a state of emergency to exist in 38 Oklahoma counties due to tornadoes, severe storms and flooding which began on April 9.

Gov. Henry also amended a March 27, 2008 executive order by adding two counties, Hughes and Pawnee, to the list of those counties experiencing severe storms and flooding since March 17.

Today’s executive order is the first step toward seeking federal assistance. In addition, Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management officials are in the midst of preliminary damage assessments to determine the extent of damages.

“Lives and property have been lost, and our thoughts and prayers go out to those who are suffering because of these storms,” Gov. Henry said. “As usual, the response of emergency management officials and first responders has been exemplary and we are ready to do whatever it takes to help victims of these storms get on with their lives.”

The counties included in the state of emergency are: Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Coal, Comanche, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Kiowa, Latimer, LeFlore, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Tulsa and Wagoner.

More counties will be added as needed.


Back to Top