Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105


In Wake of Winter Storm, Gov. Henry Declares State of Emergency for 50 Oklahoma Counties

Oklahoma City – As heavy snow and blizzard conditions impact much of Oklahoma, Gov. Brad Henry has declared a State of Emergency for 50 counties in the state.

“Ice and snow resulting from this winter storm poses serious challenges to everything from roads to power lines, and so it is critical that we be prepared for the worst,” Gov. Henry said.

The executive order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. Additionally, the executive order marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

Counties included in the executive order are Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cimarron, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Major, Mayes, McClain, Noble, Nowata, Oklahoma, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Texas, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

In the meantime, Gov. Henry is in close contact with state emergency management officials and the Oklahoma National Guard in responding to areas hit hard by the storm.

“I urge all Oklahomans to use common sense and caution during this inclement weather,” he said. “This winter storm has the potential to be a serious threat to lives and property, and so it is vital that Oklahomans stay warm and off the roads as much as possible.”


Back to Top