Skip to main content

Pres. Bush Grants Disaster Declaration for 7 Oklahoma Counties

Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105


Gov. Henry Says More Counties Will Be Added to Designation

Oklahoma City -- President Bush today granted Gov. Brad Henry’s request for a major disaster declaration for seven Oklahoma counties impacted by last week’s ice storm. The Governor noted that more counties will be added to the declaration as damage assessment surveys continue across the state.

Gov. Henry praised President Bush for granting the Dec. 15 request.

“This public assistance approved by the President will help cities, towns and counties in their response and recovery efforts,” the Governor said. “Hundreds of thousands of Oklahomans know all too well that the ice storm was of historic proportions. Federal assistance is deserved and needed for numerous communities throughout our state, and I am grateful to the President for his quick response.”

The declaration means public assistance will be available for expenses related to infrastructure damage including roads, bridges and public facilities, as well as the costs of debris removal. Counties now covered are Cleveland, Lincoln, Mayes, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Tulsa and Wagoner. Gov. Henry noted that more counties will be added upon the completion of ongoing damage assessments.

The Governor said Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management officials are also continuing surveys to build the state’s anticipated request to the President for Individual Assistance. Residents and business owners who have uninsured ice storm damages are urged to call the toll-free Oklahoma Damage Assessment Hotline (866) 560-7584 between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. daily.


Back to Top