Skip to main content

Disaster News

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management

Federal Emergency Management Agency

For Immediate Release: July 21, 2008

Disaster Aid for Public Facilities Extended to Choctaw and Nowata Counties

State and federal disaster assistance is now available in Choctaw and Nowata counties for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms and flooding that occurred June 3-20. The funds, which are provided on a cost-sharing basis through the Public Assistance program of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, are available to state and eligible local governments and certain nonprofit organizations.

Public Assistance is already available to the following counties in connection with the same disaster: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kay, Kiowa, Major, Okfuskee, Osage, Ottawa, Roger Mills, Rogers, Tillman, Washita, and Woods.


Back to Top