Skip to main content

Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105


Federal Public Assistance Approved for 24 Oklahoma Counties in Wake of June Storms

Oklahoma City – Twenty-four Oklahoma counties hard hit by severe storms last month will receive federal public assistance, Gov. Henry announced today. The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved the Governor’s request for aid, ensuring that federal funding will assist cities, towns and counties with infrastructure repairs and other related costs.

The assistance entails storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred between June 3 and June 20. The impacted counties are: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kay, Kiowa, Major, Okfuskee, Osage, Ottawa, Roger Mills, Rogers, Tillman, Washita and Woods. Other counties can be added to the declaration as additional information becomes available.

“The torrential storms that pounded parts of Oklahoma throughout June caused significant damages,” Gov Henry said. “On behalf of those communities that were hit hard, I am grateful that President Bush and FEMA officials have approved public assistance.”

The storms resulted in more than $9.6 million in infrastructure damage, particularly with regard to roads, bridges and rural electric cooperatives.


Back to Top