Skip to main content


Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management

Situation Update 1

December 1, 2018 – 3:30 p.m.


The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) is activated due to severe weather that occurred yesterday, November 30. OEM is in contact with emergency managers in the affected areas and is coordinating with agencies and organizations including the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Oklahoma State Department of Health, Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Oklahoma National Guard, Oklahoma Corporation Commission, Oklahoma Insurance Department, National Weather Service, American Red Cross, the Salvation Army, Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief and the Oklahoma Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster.


Johnston County Emergency Management reports four homes damaged in Tishomingo. Numerous trees and power lines were down, with damage reported from Tishomingo towards Melbourne.

LeFlore County Emergency Management reports roof damage at a home in Heavener and at a school in Howe, as well as multiple power lines and trees down. 

Sequoyah County Emergency Management reports three businesses destroyed and roadways were blocked with debris.

Sperry Emergency Management reports at least six homes damaged along with numerous barns and other buildings.

Tahlequah-Cherokee County Emergency Management reports Cookson, Welling and Tailholt areas were impacted by a tornado. Numerous homes were damaged or destroyed at a mobile home park in the Snake Creek area. The Cookson Airport was also heavily damaged. Additional homes, buildings and trees were damaged in the storm. The Cherokee Nation Incident Management Team is managing operations for the incident and the Cherokee Nation Search and Rescue Team was also activated to assist.

Damage assessments are ongoing.


The American Red Cross is working to assist residents in Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Johnston and Tulsa counties.

Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief is also on site in Cherokee County with chainsaw crews to assist with debris removal. Residents who need assistance may contact Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief at (405) 516-4822 or


The Oklahoma Corporation Commission reports approximately 4,170 power outages statewide. The largest outages are listed below.

Ozark Electric Cooperative

Cherokee County - 1744

Adair County - 868

Kiamichi Electric Cooperative

LeFlore County - 489

Pushmataha County - 227

Latimer County - 94 

Cookson Hills Electric Cooperative

Sequoyah County - 487

Haskell County - 59

Choctaw Electric Cooperative

Pushmataha County - 77

CK Energy Electric Cooperative 

Caddo County - 58

Northeast Oklahoma Electric Cooperative

Delaware County - 33 

Mayes County - 11

Lake Region Electric Cooperative

Cherokee County - 23 

Wagner County - 8

DIAL 211

For Oklahoma residents seeking non-emergency disaster or health and human service information, please contact your local 2-1-1. Services are available 24 hours a day by dialing 2-1-1 from your home or cellular telephone. Please only call 911 for emergencies.


Back to Top