Skip to main content

Situation Update 1

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management

Situation Update 1

May 20, 2019 – 7:30 p.m.


As a result of severe weather ongoing across the state, the State Emergency Operations Center is activated. The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) remains in contact with emergency managers across the state and coordinating with agencies and organizations including the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Oklahoma Corporation Commission, Oklahoma State Department of Health, Oklahoma National Guard Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry, Oklahoma Insurance Department, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality, Oklahoma State Department of Education, Oklahoma Office of Management and Enterprise Services Oklahoma Public Safety Broadband Network, Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Department State Parks Division, National Weather Service, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Oklahoma American Red Cross, the Salvation Army, Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief and the Oklahoma Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster.


Greer County Emergency Management reports three homes damaged, one apartment complex with roof damage and additional damage at the fairgrounds and airport. Numerous powerlines are down.

Garvin County Emergency Management has requested 1000 sand bags to assist with possible river flooding in Pauls Valley later in the week. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers is providing the sand bags.

Logan County Emergency Management reports power poles down and tree damage as well as damage to a barn.

Noble County Emergency Management reports roof damage to homes, power lines down, and barns damaged.


Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security reports the Oklahoma City and Tulsa Urban Search and Rescue teams are on standby as well as all 10 intermediate rescue teams. Swift-water rescue teams are also on standby.

Oklahoma State Department of Health reports the Regional Response System is activated and monitoring regional events. Regional Emergency Medical Services System strike teams are on standby.

The Oklahoma Corporation Commission reports their oil and gas field inspectors are on standby, the Public Utility Division emergency response team is prepared to deploy to support utility and emergency operations, and the ports of entry are ready to facilitate passage of trucks providing support from other states as needed.

Oklahoma State Department of Education is coordinating with local school districts to provide support as needed. Numerous schools were closed today due to severe weather threat.

Through a partnership between the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management, National Weather Service, the Oklahoma Department of Transportation (ODOT), and Lamar Advertising, the state has activated severe weather preparedness messaging on Lamar digital outdoor boards in the Oklahoma City metro area and ODOT has activated their highway digital message signs statewide.

An advance team from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Region 6 is deployed to the State Emergency Operations Center to help facilitate the delivery of any federal resources that may be needed during the incident.


The Oklahoma Corporation Commission reports they are working closely with OG&E, PSO, the Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperatives (OAEC), and the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority (OMPA).

There are 2,085 outages statewide.

OG&E - Total:  428

Oklahoma City: 294 

Enid: 134

PSO - Total: 41

Scattered outages in the following counties:
Craig, Custer, Mayes, Nowata, Rogers, Stephens, Tulsa, Washington, Comanche, Delaware

Northeast Oklahoma Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 1,388 

Craig County: 2

Delaware County: 1,309

Mayes County: 6

Ottawa County: 71

Kay Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 807 

Garfield County: 114

Grant County: 45

Kay County: 177

Noble County: 469

Osage County: 2

Central Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 104 

Garfield County: 2

Logan County: 19

Noble County: 83

Indian Electric Cooperative - TOTAL: 37 

Kay County: 1

Noble County: 21

Osage County: 15


The Oklahoma Highway Patrol numerous highways are closed due to high water or storm debris.

Additional flooding is expected through the evening and overnight.Drivers are reminded not to drive around barricades or into flooded roadways

To check current road conditions in Oklahoma, visit


A State of Emergency remains in effect for 66 Oklahoma counties due to severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding that began in April. Under the Executive Order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary.

The counties included in the declaration are: Adair, Alfalfa, Atoka,Beckham,Bryan,Caddo,Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek,Custer,Delaware, Dewey, Garvin, Grady, Greer, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, and Woods.


Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management is asking residents impacted by the recent storms to report damages to their property at or by calling 211. Reporting damage helps local and state emergency managers better coordinate response and recovery efforts. Residents can report damage to homes, businesses or agriculture through the online survey.

DIAL 211

For Oklahoma residents seeking non-emergency disaster or health and human service information, please contact your local 2-1-1. Services are available 24 hours a day by dialing 2-1-1 from your home or cellular telephone. Please only call 911 for emergencies.


Back to Top