Skip to main content

Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105


Gov. Henry Requests Public Assistance for Six Counties in Wake of January Ice Storm

Oklahoma City – Gov. Brad Henry has asked that the Federal Emergency Management Agency add six counties to federal public assistance that was granted Feb. 17 for four counties impacted by January’s brutal ice storm.

Gov. Henry wants assistance extended to Comanche, Haskell, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee and Sequoyah counties.

Under the public assistance that President Obama granted earlier this week, local governments and rural electric cooperatives in Adair, Cherokee, Delaware and Hughes counties can receive federal funding for infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the storm.

“Federal authorities have moved swiftly in responding to Oklahoma communities hard hit by January's severe ice storm, and I am confident FEMA will do so again with this request,” the Governor said. “This has been a challenging winter, and Oklahoma towns and counties need and deserve help in their recovery.”


Back to Top