Skip to main content

Situation Update 18

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: July 12, 2007 – 3 p.m. Update #18

Showers and thunderstorms moved into northern Oklahoma early this morning and continued southward during the day. This activity dissipated in central Oklahoma, while eastern portions moved into Arkansas during the afternoon. Rain fell across the northern parts of Oklahoma with totals of one to two inches common. A flash flood watch continues for much of Oklahoma through Friday morning. Additional showers and thunderstorms are expected tonight across the state. Strong winds and excessive rainfall are possible. Flash flooding remains a concern due to saturated soils.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) continues to receive damage reports from counties, cities and towns impacted by storms and flooding. OEM remains in contact with emergency managers in the affected areas.

Injuries and Fatalities

The Oklahoma Office of the Chief Medical Examiner has attributed one fatality to the disaster. Yesterday, Lincoln County officials found the body of a Davenport man who drowned after his vehicle stalled on a flooded roadway. While media reports include other fatalities that have occurred since May 24th, this is the first attributed to the disaster, according to the Medical Examiner’s Office. On June 18, three people sustained minor injuries when their pickup washed down a creek in Pontotoc County. All three were rescued: two were treated at the scene; one was transported to a nearby hospital. No additional injuries reported.

Utility Outages

The Oklahoma Corporation Commission reports 1,640 OG&E customers, primarily in the Oklahoma City and Holdenville areas, are without power after today’s storms. Additionally, 3,326 PSO customers, primarily in Tulsa, are without electric service.

State/Federal Disaster Assistance

Oklahomans await word on Gov. Henry’s request that Comanche, Nowata and Pottawatomie counties be added to the federal disaster declaration to receive individual assistance. The governor made the request yesterday. On July 7th Ottawa and Washington counties were declared for individual assistance.

As of 7 a.m. today, 1,058 applications for individual assistance had been received by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). OEM continues to urge all Oklahomans who sustained damage to their home, business or vehicle since May 24th to register for disaster assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The tele-registration line is open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., 7 days a week. OEM is monitoring these calls and will work to deliver additional federal assistance based on the calls received. Oklahomans can also register on line at

On Friday, OEM and FEMA will open disaster recovery centers (DRCs) in Bartlesville at Tri County Technology Center, 6105 SE Nowata Road, and in Miami at Furniture Gallery, 1601 N. Main Street. After applying for disaster assistance by phone or on line, anyone with questions can visit a center and meet face-to-face with recovery specialists. The centers will be open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week.

Since Tuesday, OEM has worked with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to secure more than 9,000 sandbags for Oklahoma communities due to continued flooding.

Oklahoma National Guard water trailers and troops to support them remain in South Coffeyville and Lenapah.

All 77 Oklahoma counties remain under a State of Emergency.

Officials with OEM, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Oklahoma Department of Transportation (ODOT), Oklahoma Highway Patrol (OHP), Oklahoma Water Resources Board and the Oklahoma State Department of Health continue to assist in impacted areas around the state.

Members of the Oklahoma Medical Reserve Corps Animal Response Team continue to assist with displaced pet needs at the Miami Animal Shelter and at the temporary Washington County Animal Shelter at the Dewey Agriculture Center in Dewey.

DEQ continues to operate a hotline for Oklahomans with environmental questions related to the flooding. The hotline number is 1-800-522-0206.

Shelters/Mass Feeding

The American Red Cross is operating a shelter for those displaced by flooding in Miami at the First Christian Church, 2424 N. Main, where 32 stayed overnight. Red Cross continues to provide meals and cleaning kits in the Miami area. Today the shelter in Bartlesville was closed after accommodations were secured for the two individuals who stayed last night. The Red Cross continues to operate a service center at the Tri County Technology Center in Bartlesville.

Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief “mud-out teams” are in Miami assisting with the cleanup of flooded homes. Volunteers continue to provide more than 1,500 meals a day in Miami at the First Christian Church and about 500 meals a day in Bartlesville and South Coffeeville. They are also providing child care at the Red Cross shelter in Miami.

The Salvation Army Office in Bartlesville, 101 N. Bucy, is serving as a cool zone for anyone needing respite from the heat. Two mobile canteens remain active and are serving hot meals, snacks, sandwiches and bottled water. Clean up kits are also available. Flood victims can apply for Salvation Army financial assistance for disaster related needs at the Bartlesville office. In Miami, Salvation Army canteens continue to provide sandwiches and snacks.

Dial 211

Oklahoma residents seeking non-emergency disaster or health and human service information, may contact their local 2-1-1. Services are available 24 hours a day by dialing 2-1-1 from home or cellular telephones in the following counties.

Northeastern Oklahoma: In Craig, Delaware, Mayes, Nowata, Ottawa and Washington counties dial 2-1-1 or 918-336-2255. In Adair, Cherokee, Creek, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Osage, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa and Wagoner counties dial 2-1-1 or 918-836-4357. In Okfuskee County dial 918-836-4357.

Central Oklahoma: In Canadian, Cleveland, Grady, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma and Pottawatomie counties dial 2-1-1 or 405-286-4057.

Southeastern Oklahoma: In Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Coal, Garvin, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore, Love, Marshall, McCurtain, Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole and Stephens counties call 2-1-1 or 580-332-0558.

Southwest Oklahoma: In Beckham, Caddo, Comanche, Cotton, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Kiowa, Tillman, and Washita counties call 2-1-1 or 580-355-7575.


Back to Top