Skip to main content

Situation Update

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 3, 2009 – 2:30 p.m. – Situation Update 2


The State Emergency Operations Center (EOC) has returned to Level One activation. Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) staff has returned to regular hours while maintaining 24-hour contact with emergency managers in the affected areas through the duty officer.

Weather Conditions

Weather conditions are quiet today and expected to remain that way through Monday night. This will give Oklahoma some time to dry out before rain reenters the forecast Tuesday morning. Monday will be clear across much of the state with temperatures in the 70s. A weak storm system will approach Oklahoma late Monday into Tuesday. Moisture will start moving back into the state with widespread rain expected by Tuesday morning. Conditions should dry out again on Wednesday and Thursday.

Fatalities and Injuries

The Oklahoma Highway Patrol (OHP) reports a Pryor woman died Saturday night in Mayes County after driving around road closed barriers into floodwaters.

Road Conditions

The Oklahoma Department of Transportation reports the following highways closed due to high water:

Ottawa County in Miami:

Steve Owens Boulevard is closed in Miami

SH-125 is closed at the fairgrounds

US-59/SH-10 is closed at Coal Creek, about 3 miles west of Miami

Washington County near Copan:

SH-10 is closed east and west of the US-75 junction

Mayes County near Adair:

SH-28 is closed east of US-69 near Adair

Alfalfa County near Aline:

SH-8 between Aline in Alfalfa County and Cleo Springs in Major County

Motorists are reminded not to drive into water on roadways.

For current road conditions call the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety's Road Conditions Hotline at (888) 425-2385.

State Assistance

Swift water rescue teams from the OHP Lake Patrol Division and Oklahoma Task Force One, out of Tulsa, were released after assisting Friday in the northeast area where more than 50 individuals required rescue from vehicles and homes due to flood waters.

State of Emergency

A State of Emergency continues for nine Oklahoma counties impacted by tornadoes, severe storms and flooding since Saturday, April 25. Per executive order issued by Gov. Brad Henry on Wednesday, the counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Kay, Major, Woods and Woodward. Other counties will be added. The executive order marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary. Additionally, the order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions.


Back to Top