Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry 

State of Oklahoma

State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105



White House Approves Gov. Henry’s Request for Ice Storm Aid

Oklahoma City – The White House announced this evening that it had approved Gov. Brad Henry’s request for a major disaster declaration for the Jan. 28 ice storm.

Under the declaration, 25 counties will receive public assistance for expenses related to response and recovery efforts for the crippling winter storm.

The counties are: Alfalfa, Caddo, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Delaware, Dewey, Ellis, Grady, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Kiowa, LeFlore, McClain, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Seminole, Stephens and Washita.

Already preliminary damage estimates exceed $69 million. Damage surveys continue in other counties throughout the state.  As they reach the federal threshold for relief, a request will be made to add additional counties to the disaster declaration.

Today’s announcement adds to the disaster assistance already granted under an emergency declaration approved Jan. 30. The emergency declaration delivered federal resources during response to the winter storm. These resources included industrial size generators, bottled water, cots and blankets.

Back to Top