Skip to main content

Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105


Feds Approve Flood Aid for Three More Counties

Oklahoma City – Federal authorities have approved three additional Oklahoma counties for individual assistance related to recent flooding and severe weather, according to Gov. Brad Henry.

Citizens in Comanche, Pottawatomie and Nowata counties are now eligible to apply for federal assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, disaster unemployment assistance and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. Low-interest loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are also available for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property.

A total of five Oklahoma counties have now been approved for individual disaster assistance from the federal government. Ottawa and Washington counties were approved earlier this month.

Gov. Henry said additional counties may be added to the federal declaration as damage assessments are completed in affected areas.

Earlier today, the Governor also requested public assistance for 17 counties across the state to help state and local governments repair damaged roads, bridges and other infrastructure. Additionally, the Gov. Henry has asked the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to deliver federal aid to impacted farmers and ranchers statewide.


Back to Top