Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry

State of Oklahoma

State Capitol - Oklahoma City OK 73105



Feds Quickly Approve Disaster Declaration for 18 Additional Counties

Oklahoma City – Gov. Brad Henry announced tonight that 18 more Oklahoma counties have been approved for federal disaster aid to assist with infrastructure damage caused by last week’s ice storm. Federal authorities approved the additional counties just hours after receiving the request from the governor’s office Friday.

“We appreciate the speedy turnaround from federal authorities,” said Gov. Henry. “This indicates FEMA understands the severity of the ice storm damage suffered across the state. We will continue to push for additional assistance for the people of Oklahoma.”

The newly approved 18 counties are: Beaver, Caddo, Canadian, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Grady, McClain, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Rogers, Seminole and Washington.

Earlier this week, the White House approved public assistance for Cleveland, Lincoln, Mayes, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Tulsa and Wagoner counties.

Eligible counties will receive federal funding to assist local governments with repairs to roads, bridges and public facilities, debris removal as well as the costs associated with responding to the ice storm.

As additional preliminary damage assessments are completed, more counties will be requested to receive public assistance.

Officials with the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management continue to document damage to homes and businesses that will be used to support a request for individual assistance. Residents and business owners with uninsured ice storm damages are urged to report those damages online at Already, the state has received more than 8,500 reports from individuals and business owners.


Back to Top