Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry

State of Oklahoma

State Capitol -- Oklahoma City, OK 73105



Gov. Henry Announces Individual Assistance Granted for 7 Counties Struck by Tornadoes

Oklahoma City -- Gov. Brad Henry announced today that the White House has approved his request for disaster assistance for an initial 7 Oklahoma counties hit hard by deadly tornadoes last week.

The disaster assistance benefits individuals and business owners impacted by the severe storms from May 10 to May 13 in, Carter, Cleveland, McIntosh, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, and Seminole counties. Gov. Henry noted as additional damage assessments are finalized for other counties the state could expand its request for federal disaster aid.

The announcement comes in the wake of four days that delivered at least 34 tornadoes statewide, killing two people and injuring more than 400. The twisters also damaged more than 1,485 homes and businesses, including 282 that were destroyed.

The designation ensures federal assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs.

Gov. Henry said he anticipates the state will also seek public assistance once a sufficient number of damage surveys are completed. Public assistance provides aid to state and local governments for infrastructure repairs and other disaster costs.


Back to Top