Skip to main content


Office of Governor Brad Henry
State of Oklahoma
State Capitol – Oklahoma City OK 73105

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – September 17, 2007

FEMA Approves More Counties for Assistance

Oklahoma City – Gov. Brad Henry announced today that federal authorities have approved additional disaster assistance in response to the deadly flooding and other severe weather that occurred Aug. 18 through Sept. 12.

The following 12 counties were approved for individual assistance: Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Custer, Grady, Kiowa, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Pottawatomie, Seminole and Stephens. Blaine, Caddo and Kingfisher counties were previously approved for individual assistance.

Citizens in those 15 Oklahoma counties are now eligible to receive federal assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, disaster unemployment assistance and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. Low-interest loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are also available for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property.

The Governor’s request for individual assistance for Dewey, Lincoln, Logan, McClain and Payne counties was denied. State emergency management officials will continue to search out available assistance for the families affected in these counties.

Federal officials also approved public assistance for the 20 counties of Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Garvin, Grady, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, McClain, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pottawatomie, Seminole, Stephens and Washita. Public assistance helps cities, towns and counties repair damaged roads, bridges and other infrastructure. Preliminary damage assessments identified more than $21 million in infrastructure damage in these counties.

Back to Top