Skip to main content


Eighteen Additional Oklahoma Counties Now Eligible for Disaster Assistance

OKLAHOMA CITY - The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) announced today that local governments in 18 additional counties are now eligible for disaster Public Assistance.

Federal Coordinating Officer Kenneth Clark said the assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials for the severe winter storms beginning Jan. 12.

The counties added to the declaration are: Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Cherokee, Coal, Cotton, Craig, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, Mayes, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Seminole, Sequoyah, and Wagoner.

This addition brings the total to 22 since Delaware, McIntosh, Muskogee and Pittsburg counties were declared yesterday.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses local government, state agencies, and certain private non-profits with federal funding for 75 percent of eligible costs.

These counties may now be eligible for debris removal costs and expenses for emergency protective measures taken before, during and after the storms to protect public and private property.

Reimbursement may also include expenses for the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities including:

  • Public roads and bridges not on the Federal Aid System;
  • Public water control facilities including dams and drainage channels;
  • Public utilities such as water treatment, sewage treatment and electrical;
  • Public buildings such as police and fire stations, libraries and public office buildings, including their vehicles and contents; and
  • Public parks and recreation facilities including playgrounds, swimming pools, tennis courts, golf courses, ball fields, and boat ramps.

The State and FEMA will announce a schedule of local meetings to begin the reimbursement process.


Back to Top