Skip to main content

How to Request a Criminal History Background Check

The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation is the state repository for all criminal history information. Information from the OSBI's repository is available to the public.

The Oklahoma Open Records Act was established to ensure and facilitate the public's right of access to and review of government records.  The privacy interests of individuals are adequately protected in the specific exceptions to the Oklahoma Open Records Act or in the Statutes, which create or require the records.  Pursuant to the Oklahoma Open Records Act, Title 51 § 24.A.5.2, all requests for criminal history record information must include at least the full name and date of birth of the subject to be searched.  Additional identifiers such as aliases (i.e. maiden names, nicknames) and social security numbers, if known, should be provided resulting in a more complete search of the OSBI Criminal History Record files.

a cloud with a lightbulb icon in the middle


February 8, 2019

To: OSBI Criminal History Record Request Customers

OSBI Name-Based Criminal History Record requests allow each request to include alias names.  Effective April 1, 2019, the OSBI will allow up to three (3) alias names per search.

How to Request Criminal History Records

For quickest results, visit our NEW online criminal history request portal - CHIRP - by clicking here


Fill out the Criminal History Request Form here (Fingerprint-based record checks must be submitted via mail or in person.  DO NOT FAX fingerprint cards, you must submit the original cards).

Submit the request either by FAX (405-879-2503), mail, or in person to:

  • Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
  • 6600 N. Harvey
  • Oklahoma City, OK  73116

Acceptable forms of payment are cash (in person only), cashier's check, money order, or credit card.  FAX requests are credit card only.

If you submit the request by mail, please include a postage-paid envelope.

Fees for Requests

OSBI Criminal History Database*

  • Name-Based - $15.00
  • Fingerprint-Based - $19.00

*OSBI fees based on Title 74 § 150.9

Department of Corrections (DOC) Database*

  • Violent Offender - $2.00
  • Sex Offender - $2.00

*Note: The Sex Offender and Violent Offender databases are maintained by the Oklahoma DOC, however, you may request a search from the OSBI.

Last Modified on Apr 15, 2024
Back to Top