Skip to main content

Initial Applicants

Step 1

Read and become knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

Carefully look at the eligibility requirementsmandatory preclusions and other preclusions to determine if you are qualified to be an SDA license holder.

Step 2

Complete the required firearms safety and training class or receive an exemption from a certified gun safety instructor.

You will need to send one of the following to the OSBI with your application:

  • original signed training certificate indicating handgun authorized to carry, issued in the last 3 years, or
  • original signed exemption certificate, issued in the last 3 years.

Step 3

Apply online or complete an application. (Applications are also available at sheriffs' offices or by emailing the OSBI.)

You must take the training class and receive your training (or exemption) certificate BEFORE you apply. The date on the certificate must be within the last 3 years.

All fees are non-refundable.

Step 4

Upload a color photo or attach two (2) color, passport style photographs to your application.

No personally printed photographs will be accepted.

Photo service may be available at your sheriff’s office for a fee not to exceed $10.00.

Step 5

Take the online summary sheet or completed application, photographs, and required fees to the Sheriff’s Office in the county you live.  

The Sheriff’s office will:

  • verify applicants against photos submitted and their Oklahoma Driver License or state issued Identification Card (if applicant has permanent military orders in Oklahoma, he or she may show a driver license or identification card from their home state of residence).  Applicants who apply online and upload a photo must have a printer capable of printing a clear and legible image. The printed image can be black and white.

  • take two complete sets of fingerprints of the applicant.

  • submit both sets of fingerprints, the online summary sheet or completed application, certificate of training or exemption, a report of information deemed pertinent to an investigation of the applicant for a handgun license, the photographs, and the processing fee to the OSBI within fourteen (14) days of taking the fingerprints.

Last Modified on May 11, 2024
Back to Top