Skip to main content

Handgun Licensing

SDA and 'Constitutional Carry'

Yes, you can continue to obtain or renew your license in Oklahoma after Nov. 1.

Yes, you can still go through the process to obtain a license after Nov. 1. Oklahoma has reciprocal agreements with other states that recognize Oklahoma’s permit in their state. If you choose to not get a permit in Oklahoma and you travel to a state that requires a permit to carry open or concealed, then you are subject to the laws of that state.

All fees previously incurred to obtain or renew a license in Oklahoma are non-refundable.


The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation is hereby authorized to license an eligible person to carry a concealed or unconcealed handgun as provided by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. The authority of the Bureau shall be limited to the provisions specifically provided in the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. The Bureau shall promulgate rules, forms, and procedures necessary to implement the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

Click here to check application status online!
Sheriffs have 14 days to submit completed applications to the OSBI. OSBI has 60-90 days to complete the processing of applications.

Click here to request application by mail order form
Applications are also available at all county sheriffs' offices and on this page.

Click here to read about SDA and Medical Marijuana
If you have or plan on applying for an Oklahoma SDA license, and you have or are obtaining an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Patient License, please read the above document.

Contact SDA Unit

Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation

6600 North Harvey Place
Oklahoma City, Ok 73116

Phone: 405-879-2690
Toll-free: 800-207-6724
Fax: 405-840-8485

Last Modified on May 11, 2024
Back to Top