Skip to main content

Apply as an Instructor

Step 1

Attend a 16-hour or longer firearms instructor school through the National Rifle Association (NRA), Oklahoma Rifle Association (ORA), Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET), federal law enforcement agency or other professionally recognized organization.

Step 2

Submit your instructor school certificate with your CLEET application to CLEET to be certified as an SDA instructor.

Effective August 15, 2022, CLEET will no longer accept paper documents or applications.  Use this link to access CLEET's Online Portal:

The Cost is $100 and should be made payable to CLEET. Call 405-239-5110 or 580-310-0871 for assistance.  A copy of your most recent CLEET certificate must be submitted each time you apply to OSBI as an SDA instructor. You must be current and certified with CLEET in order to be an approved SDA instructor.

Step 3

Read and become knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

Carefully look at the eligibility requirementsmandatory preclusions and other preclusions to determine if you are qualified to be an SDA license holder.

Step 4

Apply online or complete an application.  

Be sure to check that you are applying as an instructor.  Instructors must pay $100 to OSBI for a 5-year license or $200 for a 10-year license.

Step 5

Upload a color photo or attach two (2) color, passport style photographs to your application.

No personally printed photographs will be accepted.

Photo service may be available at your sheriff’s office for a fee not to exceed $10.00.

Step 6

Take the online summary sheet or completed application, photographs, and required fees to the Sheriff’s Office in the county you live.  

The Sheriff’s office will:

  • verify applicants against photos submitted and their Oklahoma Driver License or state-issued Identification Card (if the applicant has permanent military orders in Oklahoma, he or she may show a driver license or identification card from their home state of residence).  Applicants who apply online and upload a photo must have a printer capable of printing a clear and legible image. The printed image can be black and white.

  • take two complete sets of fingerprints of the applicant.

  • submit both sets of fingerprints, the online summary sheet or completed application, certificate of training or exemption, a report of information deemed pertinent to an investigation of the applicant for a handgun license, the photographs, and the processing fee to the OSBI within fourteen (14) days of taking the fingerprints.

Last Modified on May 11, 2024
Back to Top