Skip to main content

Call the helpline at 800-987-7767, option 5, and talk to choice counselors to change your SoonerSelect health plan!

Medical Advisory Committee


Created by section 5009.2, Title 63 of the Oklahoma State Statutes, the Advisory Committee on Medical Care for Public Assistance Recipients was implemented by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority, pursuant to 42 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 431.12. This committee is commonly referred to as the Medical Advisory Committee or MAC board.


The Medical Advisory Committee is established to advise the Oklahoma Health Care Authority about health and medical care services.


The committee will assist the Oklahoma Health Care Authority in identifying and developing recommendations related to policy issues facing the Oklahoma Medicaid Program and its recipients.

The committee will identify mechanisms to assist OHCA and its providers to achieve quality standards of the Medicaid program.


The Medical Advisory Committee reviews and makes recommendations on:

  • Policy development and program administration;
  • Policy changes proposed by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority prior to consideration of such changes by Authority;
  • Financial concerns related to the Oklahoma Health Care Authority and the administration of the program;
  • Information related to the management and operation of the Oklahoma Health Care Authority and the delivery of health and medical care services.

Committee Membership

The Medicaid Agency Director of a higher state authority must appoint members to the Medical Advisory Committee on a rotation basis. State statute mandates that the Medical Advisory Committee shall, at all times, include at least one physician from each of the following six classes of physicians listed in Section 725.2 of Title 59 of the Oklahoma State Statutes who are board-certified and participating in the State Medicaid Plan.

Classes include:

  • Podiatry - D.P.M.
  • Chiropractic - D.C.
  • Osteopathy - D.O.
  • Dental - D.D.S.
  • Medicine and Surgery - M.D.
  • Optometry - O.D.

The membership shall also include representatives from each of the following consumer organizations that represent the interests of the economically disadvantaged, children, elderly, people with mental illness, people who are developmentally disabled and people with alcohol and substance abuse problems.

This includes:

  • Medicaid recipients;
  • Members of consumer groups;
  • Nurses;
  • Pharmacists;
  • Hospitals;
  • Legislative Representatives;
  • Director of Department of Human Services;
  • Commissioner of Health Care Authority.

Election of Officers

The Medical Advisory Committee must elect a chair and a vice-chair.


The Medical Advisory Committee meets bi-monthly starting in January. The committee typically meets in the Oklahoma Health Care Authority board room at 1 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month.


A majority of the members of the Medical Advisory Committee shall constitute a quorum (at least half of the members present) but no vacancy shall impair the right of remaining members to exercise all of the powers of the committee.


Members are not compensated for their services but shall be reimbursed for travel expenses pursuant to Section 500.1 et seq. of Title 74 of the Oklahoma State Statutes State Travel Reimbursement Act.