Beginning Nov. 1, 2023, when you buy a vehicle you must obtain a title within 2 months of purchase, and register the vehicle at Service Oklahoma on N Classen in Oklahoma City or a Licensed Operator location (formerly called a Tag Agency). Receipt of registration is required to be kept in the vehicle at all times.
To learn more about obtaining a vehicle title, visit our Titles page.
Which Vehicles Require Registration?
The following vehicles require registration:
All on road motor vehicles, travel trailers, and other non-commercial vehicles
Cars, RVs, Buses, etc.
All-terrain vehicles (ATV), utility vehicles, and off-road motorcycles
Commercial vehicles and commercial trailers
Boats and outboard motors
Outboard motors 10 horsepower and higher must be registered separately*
Medium-speed electrical vehicles
(vehicles reaching 30-35 mph within 1 mile)
Registration is optional and not required for the following vehicles:
This includes utility, boat, and farm trailers
What are you Registering?
Newly Purchased Vehicle
Learn how to register new and used standard vehicles.
Boat & Motor
Boats and outboard motors require registration.
Commercial trailers, commercial trucks, and bulk commercial trailers.
Temporary Registration Permits
Non-residents temporarily operating commercial vehicles in Oklahoma, and residents temporarily utilizing their vehicle in a commercial capacity are subject to temporary permits.
Motorcycles, Trailers, and More
In the State of Oklahoma, registration and title requirements vary by vehicle. Learn more about which vehicles must be registered and/or titled.
Out-of-State Vehicle Transfer
If you have recently moved to Oklahoma from another state, you must register your vehicle.
Frequently Asked Questions
Sales tax will NOT be assessed on manufactured homes, boats or outboard motors. It will also NOT be assessed on vehicles registered as special mobilized machinery and low & medium speed electrical vehicles.
Sales tax and excise tax have different exemptions, so being exempt from one may not exempt you from the another.
Depending on the hold you are trying to release, bring the following documents to a Service Oklahoma Licensing Office or Licensed Operator:
- Document (Doc) Hold, you will need: Prior Vehicle Title or MSO
- Serial Inspection (SI) Hold, you will need: To bring in the vehicle for inspection (Service Oklahoma or Licensed Operator Location)
- Document/Serial Inspection (DS) Hold, you will need: Both of the hold types listed above to be released.
- International Registration Plan (PR) Hold, you will need: A current CAB Card
If the title is on hold for a Serial Inspection and the vehicle is out of state, the hold can be released with an inspection performed by that states DMV, law enforcement, or military police on their inspection form or letterhead.
Delinquent registration penalties vary, depending upon the situation (i.e. new vehicle purchase; registration renewal; etc.) and vehicle registration classification (non-commercial; commercial; etc.). Tags have a 30 day grace period where no penalty is charged. For newly purchased vehicles, penalties will accrue on the thirty-first (31st) day following ownership assignment. Most registration classes will begin at a rate of $1/day to a max of $100/year. Some registration classes may charge penalties at a different rate such as manufactured homes and commercial trucks. By law, penalties cannot be waived.
Two months is not calculated by any particular number of days and will fluctuate based upon the specific number of days in a particular month. For example, a vehicle purchased on November 1, 2023 will require registration by January 1, 2024.
Communication Impairment Notice
To help law enforcement know if you have a communication impairment condition, such as hearing loss or autism, you may fill out form 760-A during your initial title or registration. An indicator will be placed on your vehicle ownership upon approval.
House Bill 2516 defines “communication disorder” as impairment in the ability to receive, send, process and comprehend concepts or verbal, non-verbal and graphic symbol systems
New Dealer Feature Announcement
Service Oklahoma is excited to announce to a new feature for dealers that launches on March 1st related to the collection and use of temporary tag information. Dealers will now have the ability to provide temporary tag data through their OkCARS login or via a secure file transfer. By utilizing this feature, temporary tag data may be transmitted to partners in the same way permanent plates are. We cannot wait to share this new feature with you!