Skip to main content

FAQs

See below for answers to frequently asked questions, organized by type.

Patient License FAQ Quick Links


Commercial License FAQ Quick Links


Other FAQs


Patient Licenses

Adult (In-State)

A medical marijuana patient license allows someone with an approved application to legally buy, use and grow medical marijuana and medical marijuana products in Oklahoma. The license is in the form of an identification card that can be used to prove an individual is a license holder. The card contains the patient’s name, photo, date of birth, city and county of residence, the type of license, the date the license expires, and the patient’s unique medical marijuana license number.

Visit our main patient licensing page for more information on how to apply for a patient license.

  • Patient’s full name
  • Residence and mailing address
  • Date of birth
  • Telephone number and email address
  • Physician information
  • Patient signature dated within 30 days of the application date
  • Required documentation

  • Proof of Oklahoma residency (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • A utility bill for the calendar month preceding the date of application, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax return for the preceding year
  • Proof of identity (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • A clear, color, full-face digital photograph
  • Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form dated within 30 days of application submission.
  • If applicable, the patient’s Medicaid (SoonerCare) enrollment documentation, Medicare insurance card, or letter from the Veterans Administration or other federal agency listing the applicant's disability status as 100% disabled. If you do not have a recent benefit letter that is dated within the last six months, please visit the VA website to access and download your VA benefit summary.

The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) established the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) to oversee the medical marijuana program. OMMA receives and reviews all licensing applications related to medical marijuana.

State law requires OMMA to process patient license applications within 14 business days of the date the applicant submits it. OMMA will send applicants an email after staff reviews the application. For approved applications, it takes one or two more business days to print the patient license identification card. Then OMMA mails the card to the patient by regular U.S. Postal Service first-class mail.

If an application is incomplete due to unclear or missing information or documents, OMMA sends the applicant an email stating the reason(s) it is incomplete. Applicants can log back in to their account to make corrections once they receive this email (but not before).

If an application is reviewed and denied because all requirements have not been met, OMMA will mail a denial letter stating the reason(s) within 14 business days of submission.

The standard application fee is $100. Patients who provide acceptable proof of Medicaid (SoonerCare) or Medicare enrollment or status as a 100% disabled veteran will pay a reduced fee of $20. Application fees must be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved. 

Many retail stores have pre-paid MasterCard or Visa cards available for purchase. Applicants who do not have access to a personal credit card may purchase one of these pre-paid MasterCard or Visa cards and load the amount of the licensing and processing fees at the store. The card may then be used for the online transaction.

Step 1: Check to ensure the correct billing address and zip code for the credit/debit card is correctly entered.

Step 2: Check to ensure the credit card number, expiration date, and CVV code is entered in the correct fields and in the correct format.

Step 3: If the information entered in Steps 1 and 2 is correct, call the issuing bank using the phone number on the back of the card and ask them to investigate why the payment didn’t go through. The issuing bank can provide more information to help you resolve the problem.

Step 4: If the above steps are unsuccessful, try using a prepaid Visa, MasterCard, or Discover debit or credit card. Some prepaid cards charge an activation fee. Make sure to purchase a card with the correct prepaid amount that will cover the card activation, application and processing fees.

You will need to visit your doctor and have them complete and sign the Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form. A digital copy of the form must be submitted with the application through the online system. The form must be dated within 30 days of the date you apply. For instance, if your physician signs the recommendation form on Sept. 30, the application must be submitted by Oct. 30.

Oklahomans age 18 and older must obtain a signed Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form. Oklahomans under age of 18 must get two physicians’ signatures using the Minor Patient Physician Recommendation Form.

State law requires OMMA to process patient license applications within 14 business days of the date the applicant submits it. OMMA will send applicants an email after staff reviews the application. For approved applications, it takes one or two more business days to print the patient license identification card. Then OMMA mails the card to the patient by regular U.S. Postal Service first-class mail.

If an application is incomplete due to unclear or missing information or documents, OMMA sends the applicant an email stating the reason(s) it is incomplete. Applicants can log back in to their account to make corrections once they receive this email (but not before).

If an application is reviewed and denied because all requirements have not been met, OMMA will mail a denial letter stating the reason(s) within 14 business days of submission.

This individual is referred to as a Caregiver, and they will need to hold a valid Caregiver license. Caregiver licenses are available for patients who provide documentation from a physician that they need a caregiver. This documentation is part of the Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form and can be provided by you when you submit your application or at a later date by accessing your online account.

A patient can only have one licensed caregiver at a time, and the caregiver must submit an application meeting all requirements to receive a caregiver license. This includes the requirement that the caregiver must provide a Caregiver Designation Form signed by the patient.

You must present your medical marijuana patient license identification card and every time you purchase medical marijuana at a dispensary or have marijuana taken to a processor to be concentrated. Licensed businesses must verify the validity of your license every time you buy products or services. Law enforcement officers may also require you to show them your identification card to prove you are licensed to legally use and possess medical marijuana.

We can accept a driver’s license with a P.O. Box if it is accompanied by another valid form of proof of residency, or legal documents for victim protection. A P.O. Box can also be used as a mailing address if the above information is provided.

If you lost your card, or it has been at least 30 days since OMMA approved your application but you never received your card, log on to your account in the OMMA licensing portal and navigate the menu options to fill out a replacement card request. Select your replacement request reason. Ensure your address is correct before submitting a replacement request. If your address is not correct, please first submit an update application request.

Oklahoma residents can apply for up to two types of adult patient licenses valid for either two years or 60 days from the issue date, unless the license is revoked by the physician or OMMA. The 60-day adult patient license for in-state residents is referred to as a “short-term” license.


Out-of-State (Adult and Minor)

A medical marijuana out-of-state (temporary) patient license allows someone with a valid medical marijuana license from another state (issued by that state government) to legally buy, use and grow medical marijuana and medical marijuana products in Oklahoma. It’s available to adults and minors.

The license is in the form of an identification card to prove the patient is a license holder. The card contains the patient’s name, photo, date of birth, city and county of residence, the type of license, expiration date, and the patient’s unique medical marijuana license number.

For minor patients, the online application system will ask for parent/legal guardian information along with the minor’s information. The name of the parent/legal guardian who signs the minor’s application will be placed on the minor’s patient license.

Out-of-state (temporary) licenses are valid for 30 days. Out-of-state applicants can apply for a new license beginning one week before the expiration of their current out-of-state license.

Visit the out-of-state patient license section of our main patient license application page for details on how to apply.

  • Full name
  • Residence and mailing address
  • Date of birth
  • Telephone number and email address
  • Information about the out-of-state medical marijuana license
  • Patient signature dated within 30 days of the application date
  • Required documentation

For minors, the following information is also required about the parent or legal guardian:

  • Full name
  • Residence and mailing address
  • Date of birth
  • Telephone number and email address
  • Signature dated within 30 days 

  • Out-of-state medical marijuana license issued by that state government, not a medical provider (digital, color copy of the front and back)
  • Proof of identity (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • State-issued driver’s license (front and back)
    • State-issued identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S government
    • For minors who do not have the items above, a certified copy of the minor’s birth certificate (please note that the seal/watermark will need to be visible when you upload the document)
  • A clear, color, full-face digital photograph

For minors, the following information is also required about the parent or guardian:

  • Proof of identity (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • State-issued driver’s license (front and back)
    • State-issued identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S government
    • For applicants who do not have the items above, a certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate (please note that the seal/watermark will need to be visible when you upload the document)
  • A clear, color, full-face digital photograph
  • If applicable, documentation establishing legal guardianship

The out-of-state (temporary) license application fee is $100. There are no reduced fees for temporary patients. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

No. Out-of-state (temporary) licenses are valid for 30 days and require an out-of-state, state-issued medical marijuana license, as opposed to a physician recommendation.

No. But the name of the parent/legal guardian who signs the minor’s application will be placed on the minor’s out-of-state (temporary) patient license so the parent/legal guardian can buy medical marijuana for the minor.

Please note that licensed out-of-state minor patients cannot enter a dispensary without a parent or legal guardian.


Caregiver

A medical marijuana caregiver license allows someone designated by a patient – or a minor patient’s parent(s) or legal guardian(s) – to help the patient buy, grow, apply, and/or administer medical marijuana.

This license is in the form of an identification card to prove someone is a license holder. The card contains the caregiver’s name, photo, date of birth, city and county of residence, the type of license, expiration date, the caregiver’s unique medical marijuana license number, and the patient’s unique medical marijuana license number.

Caregiver licenses are valid up to the expiration date of the associated patient’s license, not to exceed two years. The patient also has the right to withdraw his or her designated caregiver at any time, and physicians may terminate a patient’s license. A caregiver license is invalidated if all of the patient licenses associated with it are terminated.

Visit the caregiver license section of our main patient license application page for details on how to apply.

  • Caregiver’s full name
  • Residence and mailing address
  • Date of birth
  • Telephone number and email address
  • Caregiver’s signature
  • The name of the patient who has designated you as their caregiver
  • The 24-character medical marijuana license number for the patient who has designated you as their caregiver
  • Required documentation

  • Proof of Oklahoma residency (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • A utility bill for the calendar month preceding the date of application, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax return for the preceding year
  • Proof of identity (digital, color copy one of the following):
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 9 2008.
  • A clear, color, full-face digital photograph
  • Caregiver Designation Form signed by the patient (and/or, if applicable, the patient’s legal guardian, or parent/legal guardian for minor patients)

There is no application fee for a caregiver license application.

Yes, you may submit the Patient Withdrawal of Caregiver Designation Form to withdraw a current caregiver. To designate another caregiver, a separate caregiver application with another Caregiver Designation Form signed by the patient is required.

Each licensed caregiver may be the designated caregiver for up to five licensed patients. 

Each licensed patient can have only one designated licensed caregiver.


Minor (In-State)

A medical marijuana minor patient license allows an Oklahoma resident under the age of 18 to legally possess, use and grow medical marijuana and medical marijuana products in Oklahoma.

A minor patient license holder is not authorized to smoke or vaporize any medical marijuana or medical marijuana products, unless both recommending physicians agree it is medically necessary. Minors are not prohibited from using nebulizers or other aerosolized medical devices.

The license is in the form of an identification card. The card contains the minor patient’s name, photo, date of birth, city and county of residence, the type of license, date of expiration, and the minor patient’s unique medical marijuana license number.

The online application system will ask for parent/legal guardian information along with the minor’s information. Please note that licensed minor patients cannot enter a dispensary without a parent or legal guardian.

The name of the parent/legal guardian who signs the minor’s application will be placed on the minor’s temporary patient license so the parent/legal guardian can buy medical marijuana for the minor. 

The caregiver license allows someone to help a homebound patient with the purchase, application, and administration of medical marijuana. A caregiver license is available to designated caregivers of any homebound patient. Only patients whose physician certifies a medical need for a caregiver may have a licensed caregiver. The status of the applicant as a minor, on its own, does not qualify the applicant for a caregiver. For more information, visit the caregiver license section of our main patient licensing page

A minor patient license is valid for two years from the date it is issued (or 60 days from the date it is issued for short-term licenses), or until the patient turns 18, whichever happens first. Licenses are also subject to revocation by the recommending physicians or OMMA.

Visit the minor patient license section of our main patient license application page for details on how to apply.

  • Full name
  • Residence and mailing address
  • Date of birth
  • Telephone number and email address (if applicable)
  • Information about two recommending physicians
  • Required documentation

The following information is required about the parent or legal guardian:

  • Full name
  • Residence and mailing address
  • Date of birth
  • Telephone number and email address
  • Signature dated within 30 days of the application date
  • Required documentation

  • Proof of identity (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 9 2008.
    • For minors who do not have the items above, a certified copy of the minor’s birth certificate (please note that the seal/watermark will need to be visible when uploading the document)
  • A clear, color, full-face digital photograph
  • Physician Recommendation Form (Minor Patients)
  • If applicable, the minor’s Medicaid (SoonerCare) or Medicare insurance card or enrollment documentation

The following documentation is required for the parent or legal guardian:

  • Proof of Oklahoma residency (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • A utility bill for the calendar month preceding the date of application, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills.
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma.
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax return for the preceding year
  • Proof of identity (digital, color copy of one of the following):
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 9, 2008.
    • For applicants who do not have the items above, a certified copy of the applicant’s birth certificate (please note that the seal/watermark will need to be visible when uploading the document)
  • A clear, color, full-face digital photograph
  • If applicable, documentation establishing legal guardianship

The standard application fee is $100. Minor patients who provide acceptable proof of Medicaid (SoonerCare) or Medicare enrollment will pay a reduced fee of $20. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

Applicants must complete a Physician Recommendation Form (Minor Patients), which requires two physicians to sign it.

The physicians must sign the form within 30 days of each other, and the second form must me dated within 30 days of the application submission date. For example, if the first physician signs the recommendation form on Sept. 30, the second physician must sign the second form by Oct. 30. The application must then be submitted within 30 days of the second physician’s signature – Nov. 29, if the second physician signs it on Oct. 30.

Minor patient license holders may not enter a dispensary unless they are accompanied by their parent or legal guardian.

Minor patient license holders are not authorized to smoke or vaporize any medical marijuana or medical marijuana products, unless both recommending physicians agree it is medically necessary. They are not prohibited from using nebulizers or other aerosolized medical devices.


Physicians

  • A physician must hold a valid, unrestricted and existing license to practice in the State of Oklahoma as a doctor of medicine, doctor of osteopathic medicine or doctor of podiatric medicine.
  • The physician must establish a medical record for the patient and must have a bona fide physician-patient relationship.
  • The physician must recommend a medical marijuana license according to the accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow for recommending or approving any medication.
  • If applicable, the physician may certify that the patient is homebound or does not have the capability to self-administer or purchase medical marijuana due to a developmental disability or a physical or cognitive impairment; and the physician believes the patient would benefit from having a caregiver with a caregiver’s license designated to manage the patient's medical marijuana on the patient's behalf.
  • The physician must verify the patient’s identity as provided in the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority Rules (310:681-1-7).
  • The physician must be licensed by and in good standing with the Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Board of Osteopathic Examiners or Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners.

Yes.

No. The Registered Physicians List is voluntary for physicians who want to be on the list.

Your information will be shared on the Registered Physicians List only if you request it to be on the list.

  • Contact information for the medical practice, including professional email address
  • Medical licensure number
  • National Provider Identifier (NPI) number

Yes. Minor applications must include the Physician Authorization Form (Minor Patients) signed by two physicians. The form and more details are available in the minor patients section of our patient licensing page.

Yes, the law now authorizes recommending physicians to terminate the license of a patient who no longer meets the requirements for the continued use of medical marijuana. Recommending physicians who wish to terminate a patient’s license must complete the Physician Termination of Patient License Form.

No.


Commercial Licenses

Grower

HB 3208, passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put a moratorium in place on new grower licenses beginning Aug. 26, 2022. The moratorium lasts until Aug. 1, 2024, or earlier under certain conditions. Requirements for ownership remain the same for anyone renewing a grower license, and for new owners of a license during a transfer of license ownership. 
 
  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers, and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership held by an Oklahoma resident
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a sole proprietorship or general partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Secretary of State's website.
  • Applicants must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location.
  • Applicants must provide proof that they are not within 1,000 feet of any entrance to any public or private school.
  • Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:            
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax returns
    • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA
  • Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if they are not a U.S. citizen.

Yes, separate licenses are required for each location. A separate application and non-refundable application fee for each location is required. You also will need to submit a separate application and non-refundable application fee for each license type (processor, grower, dispensary, etc.).

You may use the same background check for multiple license applications as long as the background check was completed within 30 days of the application submission date.

Licenses are valid for one year from the date issued, unless the license is revoked by OMMA. Licensees may begin the renewal process 60 days before the license expires. As long as you submit a renewal application before the license expires, the license will remain active while OMMA reviews the application. If a commercial licensee wishes to renew their business license after the expiration date, they have up to 90 days to so, but will be assessed a $500 fee.


HB 3208, passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put a moratorium in place on new grower licenses beginning Aug. 26, 2022. The moratorium lasts until Aug. 1, 2024, or earlier under certain conditions. Requirements for ownership remain the same for anyone renewing a grower license, and for new owners of a license during a transfer of license ownership.

Visit the grower section of our commercial license page for details on applying for a grower license.

Review our Commercial Application Checklist to see what documentation you need before submitting a grower license application.

Yes, background checks are required for all owners and officers. Please review the instructions on our Commercial License Background Check Information sheet before submitting an application. The applicant is responsible for all costs associated with the background checks.

The grower license application fee is $2,500. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

If you have a trade name/Doing Business As (DBA) that is different than your entity name, it must be listed on your application. For example, you cannot have a license under the name “Legal MMJ Co” and have a storefront sign that ID’s your business as “MMJ Plus.”

If you are not in the application process but do not have your trade name/DBA on file, you can update it through your business’s licensing portal.

Your physical address needs to match the one that OMMA has on file for your location. Your license is tied to this location.

OMMA-licensed growers can sell to licensed processors, dispensaries or other licensed growers

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.


Dispensary

HB 3208, passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put a moratorium in place on new dispensary licenses beginning Aug. 26, 2022. The moratorium lasts until Aug. 1, 2024, or earlier under certain conditions. Requirements for ownership remain the same for anyone renewing a grower license, and for new owners of a license during a transfer of license ownership.
 
  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers, and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership held by an Oklahoma resident
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a sole proprietorship or general partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Secretary of State's website.
  • Applicants must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location.
  • Applicants must provide proof that they are not within 1,000 feet of any entrance to any public or private school.
  • Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:            
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax returns
    • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA
  • Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if they are not a U.S. citizen.

Yes, separate licenses are required for each location. A separate application and non-refundable application fee for each location is required. You also will need to submit a separate application and non-refundable application fee for each license type (processor, grower, dispensary, etc.).

You may use the same background check for multiple license applications as long as the background check was completed within 30 days of the application submission date.

Licenses are valid for one year from the date issued, unless the license is revoked by OMMA. Licensees may begin the renewal process 60 days before the license expires. As long as you submit a renewal application before the license expires, the license will remain active while OMMA reviews the application.

HB 3208, passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put a moratorium in place on new dispensary licenses beginning Aug. 26, 2022. The moratorium lasts until Aug. 1, 2024, or earlier under certain conditions. Requirements for ownership remain the same for anyone renewing a grower license, and for new owners of a license during a transfer of license ownership.

Visit the dispensary section of our commercial license page for details on applying for a dispensary license.

Review our Commercial Application Checklist to see what documentation you need before submitting a dispensary license application.

Yes, background checks are required for all owners and officers. Please review the instructions on our Commercial License Background Check Information sheet before submitting an application. The applicant is responsible for all costs associated with the background checks.

The dispensary license application fee is $2,500. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

If you have a trade name/Doing Business As (DBA) that is different than your entity name, it must be listed on your application. For example, you cannot have a license under the name “Legal MMJ Co” and have a storefront sign that ID’s your business as “MMJ Plus.”

If you are not in the application process but do not have your trade name/DBA on file, you can update it through your business’s licensing portal.

Your physical address needs to match the one that OMMA has on file for your location. Your license is tied to this location.

OMMA-licensed dispensaries can sell product to licensed dispensaries and patients/caregivers. This is the only license type permitted to sell medical marijuana or medical marijuana products to licensed patients and caregivers.

Yes – for example, a dispensary can use flower, shake or trim to make pre-rolls (up to 1 gram in net weight). But as with all medical marijuana and medical marijuana products, anything a dispensary sells must comply with OMMA’s testing guidelines. Using the same pre-roll example, a dispensary making pre-rolls out of a single harvest batch that has already been tested would not need further compliance testing on the pre-rolls. But if a dispensary makes pre-rolls out of multiple harvest batches, the pre-rolls need a new compliance test before sale.

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.


Processor

HB 3208, passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put a moratorium in place on new processor licenses beginning Aug. 26, 2022. The moratorium lasts until Aug. 1, 2024, or earlier under certain conditions. Requirements for ownership remain the same for anyone renewing a grower license, and for new owners of a license during a transfer of license ownership.
 
  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers, and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership held by an Oklahoma resident
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a sole proprietorship or general partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Secretary of State's website.
  • Applicants must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location.
  • Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:            
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax returns
    • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA
  • Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if they are not a U.S. citizen.

Yes, separate licenses are required for each location. A separate application and non-refundable application fee for each location is required. You also will need to submit a separate application and non-refundable application fee for each license type (processor, grower, dispensary, etc.).

You may use the same background check for multiple license applications as long as the background check was completed within 30 days of the application submission date.

Licenses are valid for one year from the date issued, unless the license is revoked by OMMA. Licensees may begin the renewal process 60 days before the license expires. As long as you submit a renewal application before the license expires, the license will remain active while OMMA reviews the application.

HB 3208, passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put a moratorium in place on new processor licenses beginning Aug. 26, 2022. The moratorium lasts until Aug. 1, 2024, or earlier under certain conditions. Requirements for ownership remain the same for anyone renewing a grower license, and for new owners of a license during a transfer of license ownership.

Visit the processor section of our commercial license page for details on applying for a processor license.

Review our Commercial Application Checklist to see what documentation you need before submitting a processor license application.

Yes, background checks are required for all owners and officers. Please review the instructions on our Commercial License Background Check Information sheet before submitting an application. The applicant is responsible for all costs associated with the background checks.

The processor license application fee is $2,500. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

If you have a trade name/Doing Business As (DBA) that is different than your entity name, it must be listed on your application. For example, you cannot have a license under the name “Legal MMJ Co” and have a storefront sign that ID’s your business as “MMJ Plus.”

If you are not in the application process but do not have your trade name/DBA on file, you can update it through your business’s licensing portal.

Your physical address needs to match the one that OMMA has on file for your location. Your license is tied to this location.

"Hazardous processor license" means a license issued to a medical marijuana processor that performs an extraction method that uses chemicals considered hazardous by the OSHA Hazard Communication Standard under 29 CFR § 1910.1200.

"Nonhazardous processor license" means a license issued by the Department to a processor that will not perform any processing or extraction methods that use a chemical considered hazardous by the OSHA Hazard Communication Standard under 29 CFR § 1910.1200. 

OMMA-licensed processors can sell product to licensed processors and dispensaries. 

Find requirements on our packaging and labeling guide.

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.


Transporter and Product Transportation

A transporter license is issued simultaneously with commercial grower, processor, dispensary and laboratory licenses. It allows those licensees, through their licensed transport agents, to transport their own medical marijuana and medical marijuana products. Commercial licensees use their business account to apply on behalf of their employees for OMMA-issued transporter agent licenses. Anyone driving a vehicle transporting products between licensed businesses must have a transporter agent license identification card in their possession.

A commercial transporter license is a standalone license for a business that transports medical marijuana and/or medical marijuana products between licensed medical marijuana businesses, through their licensed transportation agents. Transporters do not grow, process or sell their own medical marijuana. Transporter licenses are similar, but issued simultaneously with grower, processor and dispensary licenses for those licensees to transport their own products (through their licensed transportation agents).

  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership held by an Oklahoma resident.
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a sole proprietorship or general partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Secretary of State’s website.
  • Applicants must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location.
  • Nobody with ownership interest in the business can be a sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer or prosecuting officer, or an officer or employee of OMMA or a municipality in which the commercial entity is located.
  • Applicants must supply ownership disclosure documentation.
  • Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA
  • Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if they are not a U.S. citizen.

A transporter agent license allows individual employees/owners/agents to transport medical marijuana on behalf of a licensed transporter, including growers, processors, dispensaries and standalone commercial transporters. Commercial licensees apply for the license on behalf of their employees. If approved for your license, OMMA will issue a transporter agent identification card to carry with you any time you are transporting medical marijuana.

Find information about applying for a standalone commercial transporter license on the transporter section of our commercial licensing page. Transporter licenses are issued simultaneously with grower, processor and dispensary licenses. Transporter agents will need to work with the business that is employing them to submit the application through their OMMA business account. 

A standalone transporter license application fee is $2,500. Transporter licenses are also issued simultaneously with grower, processor and dispensary licenses for no additional fee.

Transporters may have multiple warehouses with the submission of one application fee, but a separate application must be submitted for each warehouse from the same online account. Each warehouse location must have a Certificate of Compliance.

Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

A transporter agent license application fee is $25. A separate application and fee is required for each agent license if the agent is employed by multiple businesses.

Standalone commercial transporter licenses and transporter agent licenses are valid for one year, unless terminated by the associated employer or revoked by OMMA.

Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

If you have a trade name/Doing Business As (DBA) that is different than your entity name, it must be listed on your application. For example, you cannot have a license under the name “Legal MMJ Co” and have a storefront sign that ID’s your business as “MMJ Plus.”

If you are not in the application process but do not have your trade name/DBA on file, you can update it through your business’s licensing portal.

Your physical address needs to match the one that OMMA has on file for your location. Your license is tied to this location.

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.


Laboratory

  • Documentation of accreditation to ISO 17025 standards by an accreditation body such as ANSI/ASQ National Accreditation Board (ANAB), American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA), Perry Johnson Laboratory Accreditation (PJLA), International Accreditation Service (IAS), or COLA. Laboratories will only be permitted to report test results generated in their laboratory from methods they possess accreditation for.
  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers, and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership held by an Oklahoma resident.
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a sole Proprietorship or general Partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Secretary of State’s website.
  • Applicants must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location.
  • Nobody with ownership interest in the business can be a sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer or prosecuting officer, or an officer or employee of OMMA or a municipality in which the commercial entity is located.
  • Applicants must supply ownership disclosure documentation.
  • Nobody who is a direct beneficial owner of a licensed dispensary, commercial grower, or processor may be an owner of a licensed laboratory.
  • Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax returns
    • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA
  • Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or a Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if they are not a U.S. citizen.

Visit the laboratory section of our commercial license page for details on applying for a testing laboratory license.

The application fee for at testing laboratory license is $2,500. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

Testing laboratory licenses are valid for one year, unless revoked by OMMA.

A transporter license is issued simultaneously with commercial grower, processor, dispensary and laboratory licenses. It allows those licensees, through their licensed transport agents, to transport their own medical marijuana and medical marijuana products. Commercial licensees use their business account to apply on behalf of their employees for OMMA-issued transporter agent licenses. Anyone driving a vehicle transporting products between licensed businesses must have a transporter agent license identification card in their possession.

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.


Waste Disposal Facility

Visit the waste disposal section of our commercial license page for details on applying for a waste disposal license.

  • Applicants must have, and provide in the OMMA application, a permit from the Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ).
  • Applicants must show proof of sufficient liability insurance or a letter of insurability from the insurance company showing the following minimum amounts:
    • Commercial General Liability: $5 million each occurrence.
    • Pollution Legal Liability: $5 million each occurrence.
  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers, and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership is held by an Oklahoma resident.
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; existence of a nonviolent felony conviction in the last two years and/or any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a sole proprietorship or general partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Secretary of State’s website.
  • Applicants must provide proof that they are not within 1,000 feet of any entrance to any public or private school.
  • Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:  
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the documents below:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front and back)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front and back)
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA
  • Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if they are not a U.S. citizen.

The application fee for a research or education license is $5,000. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.


Research and Education

Visit the research and education section of our commercial license page for details on applying for a research license or education license.

  • Project description – Please reference the Guidance Document for specific requirements.
  • Certificate of Compliance – All research facility and education facility applicants will be required to submit a Certificate of Compliance from the political subdivision that has jurisdiction where the facility is located (city or county). Research and/or education facilities located within Oklahoma City may submit the Certificate of Compliance provided by Oklahoma City. Applicants are encouraged to contact their city or county and visit the commercial licensing page for more information on this process before submitting their application.
  • Non-profit registration – All education facility applicants must supply non-profit registration with the Oklahoma Secretary of State.
  • Residency Requirements – Research facility applicants that are privately owned (not a public institution) need to show proof of residency to establish that 75% of the owners are Oklahoma residents. Proof of Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one or more of the following documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license
    • Oklahoma identification card
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
  • Background checks and proof of identification – Background checks and proof of identification are required for either owners, principal officers (e.g., board members), or principal and co-principal investigators, depending on the applicant.
  • Contracts and agreements – Applicants who are using public funds or working with public institutions need to supply documentation of contract(s) and agreement(s) that show how public funds and/or public institutions are involved in the research.

The application fee for a research license or education license is $500. Application fees will be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. An additional credit card processing fee will be added to the transaction. These application and processing fees are non-refundable. The payment will not be refunded for applications not approved.

Research and education licenses are valid for one year, unless revoked by OMMA.

Research licenses allow the licensee to grow, cultivate, possess and transfer medical marijuana for research purposes. Education licenses allow the licensee to grow, cultivate, posses and transfer medical marijuana for educational purposes, and to provide training and education on growing, cultivating, harvesting, curing, preparing, processing or packaging of medical marijuana.

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.


Metrc (Seed-to-Sale)

Oklahoma requested proposals for a statewide seed-to-sale tracking system provider. A single, statewide provider provides industrywide standardization that makes it more efficient to track activity in the medical marijuana market.

The owner or key administrator of each commercial license is required to take Metrc’s New Business class to become credentialed in Metrc.

Licensees can use the Metrc scheduler to sign up for New Business training, offered each weekday. The class is also offered on demand through Metrc Learn in your Metrc account.

When you complete the training, reach out to Metrc’s Support team to get credentialed.

No, you’re all set. You can take the required training again if you’d like or dive into the optional training opportunities listed above.

Yes! Anything you already bought from Metrc will still work after May 26, including tags purchased in preparation for the 2021 Metrc implementation.

All untagged material must have been brought inside Metrc using the beginning inventory process, or have been legally disposed of, by May 26.

The licensee must dispose of untagged material on or before Aug. 24, or have made arrangements for pickup and transfer for waste disposal.

Please see the Monthly Reporting section.

You can conduct untagged sales from May 27 through Aug. 24. Untagged sales will need to be accounted for as described in the Monthly Reporting section above.

The deadline was July 25 for testing labs to enter COAs for items in a business' beginning inventory, or for testing information to be added to the notes for those items in a dispensary's inventory.

All items without COAs (or the testing information in the notes, for dispensaries) must be re-tested, and the testing laboratory must upload the new COA into Metrc.

Violations are subject to administrative action. Businesses that aren't compliant will receive instructions via certified mail and email.

If Metrc is unable to find your license, request a ticket number from Metrc Support. Then send an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov with the licensee’s name, the business name, the business license number and the Metrc ticket number. Our vendors are working on a permanent solution to this problem, but in the meantime, we can help troubleshoot and potentially fix it manually.

Yes. All commercial licensees are required to be credentialed in Metrc. Businesses reporting zero inventory will need to continue submitting monthly reports in the current system until zero inventory reporting is available in Metrc.

Growers and processors who were fully credentialed in Metrc on or before May 26 but missed the Beginning Inventory deadline for external transfers can fill out this form to request an extension. OMMA will contact you about next steps after you fill out the form. Note: This process is separate from any Notice of Monetary Penalty or other administrative action involving a business license. Any licensee who received a notice should follow those instructions.


Licensing Portal (Thentia)

Links to the new portal are on our website. to visit the new portal. We also have a link to the new portal on the OMMA homepage at oklahoma.gov/omma, or you can use the buttons and navigation menu options for patients, businesses and more and find it there.

All licensees should have received at least one email from us about the new portal during the week of Jan. 24. Look for a message from no-reply@omes.ok.gov or omma@public.govdelivery.com. Use the link in that email to set up your account in Thentia, which will have all of your licensing information from the previous portal.

Please only log into the new portal for the first time using the email from OMMA to be sure your licensing data transfers correctly. Creating a new account and asking to merge it with the old account will create processing delays.

Thentia Troubleshooting Graphic

Information provided in previously submitted applications will be included in the large data migration. You should be able to view all the information that was in Complia (the old system) when you log into Thentia (the new one).

Once the renewal or new application has been approved, commercial licensees are able to print their own license certificate. OMMA will continue to mail licenses to patients and caregivers.

Our state laws require patients to use OMMA-printed licenses to legally buy and possess medical marijuana products. In the long term, we’re working toward a digital license that could possibly be available to patients as soon as a license is approved.

Yes, you can add more than one profile in Thentia, but the application name must match the profile name.

Many of the agencies OMMA works closely with also use Thentia. Switching to Thentia will make information sharing between OMMA and the other agencies more efficient. Thentia also offers a more user-friendly interface and provides more customization within the application portals to help reduce license processing times.


Licensing and Tax Data

The reporting date is the date the OMMA shared this data. The reporting data typically shows licensing totals as of the last day of the previous month. Example: A reporting date of May 1, 2020 would include data totals from April 2020.

It is largely attributable to statutory and regulatory changes that took effect in November 2021, which removed a grace period for expired business licenses without a renewal in process. OMMA implemented those changes before that report. The reduction in commercial licenses can also be connected to an increase in the number of license surrenders OMMA received since the previous report.

HB 3208 -- passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor in 2022 -- creates a moratorium on processing applications for new dispensary, grower and processor licenses for up to two years beginning Aug. 1, 2022. Read more in our news release.

OMMA is required by state law to inspect businesses once a year, and has been hiring more staff to meet that obligation. OMMA inspected about 25% of licensed businesses in 2020-21. OMMA’s goal is to inspect every licensed business at least once in 2022.

OMMA is working on getting, preparing and posting the data on this page.

The SQ 788 excise tax is for retail medical marijuana sales. It is 7% and is collected at the point of sale.

This varies by municipality and county. Local voters set their own county and municipal sales tax rates. There is also a statewide sales tax for the State of Oklahoma government. OMMA does not receive state or local sales tax revenue.

As of FY 2023, excise tax revenue is handled as proposed in SQ 788:

  • It goes first to OMMA’s authorized budget (up to $57 million in FY 2023).
  • Then, 75% of excess revenue is earmarked for education via the general fund, and 25% is earmarked for drug and alcohol rehabilitation via the state Health Department.

OMMA's budget includes revenue from the SQ 788 excise tax and licensing fees. 

About 43% of OMMA's budget is on contracts like licensing software, and services from other state agencies. About 34% is on personnel. The rest is on equipment, supplies, training, travel and other expenses. A detailed graph for FY 2023 is coming soon.

OMMA's total revenue includes licensing fees and OMMA's authorized share of the SQ 788 excise tax. As the graph below indicates, OMMA's authorized revenue is typically more than the authorized budget. Of the $90 million in OMMA revenue the Legislature has appropriated to state programs since FY 2020, $67.5 million has gone to common education.

 

Send an email to OMMACommunications@ok.gov


Compliance and Enforcement

An embargo is when OMMA places a hold on specific product(s) that were found to:

  1. exceed the allowable testing thresholds set forth under our rules;
  2. contain analytes that could be poisonous, harmful to health or otherwise unsuitable or unsafe for human consumption;
  3. be in violation of applicable laws, rules or regulations.

Licensed businesses cannot engage in commercial activity (sale, donation, transfer, etc.) with embargoed products without the OMMA's permission. If your business is in possession of an embargoed product, you cannot send it to a waste facility (or other commercial licensee). You must await further instructions from OMMA.

A recall takes place when the OMMA has ordered for the disposal of medical marijuana or medical marijuana products that have been sold to patients or caregivers AND meet at least one of the criteria below:

  1. Exceed allowable testing thresholds set forth under our rules;
  2. Are the subjects of an embargo or a derivative thereof;
  3. Fail to meet standards set forth in our rules

The commercial licensee whose harvest or production batch is being recalled shall bear the costs for disposal of all medical marijuana waste.

After issuing the recall, dispensaries that have sold the product and the commercial licensee who grew or produced the product must assist in the recall in any way they can.

If you or your caregiver purchased a product from the above list, do not consume the product. Contact the dispensary for more information.

An embargoed product is in a holding pattern until the courts can determine whether OMMA has the authority to seize and destroy the product in question.

A recall occurs once we have confirmation that a product has been sold to patients and meets one of the below criteria:

1.      exceeds allowable testing thresholds set forth under our rules;

2.     is the subject of an embargo or a derivative thereof;

3.     fails to meet the standards set forth in our rules.

Put another way, if a product has been embargoed, a business (including a dispensary) cannot engage in any commercial activity with that product. They can't sell it, distribute it, transport it, dispose of it, etc. They must also tag the product so it's obvious the product is under an embargo.

If a product has been recalled, the product needs to be destroyed and the businesses who have sold the product (either to patients or other businesses) are responsible for assisting with the recall in any way they can.

Patients or caregivers who have purchased a recalled product need to contact the dispensary from which they bought the item to determine how they should move forward in assisting with the recall.

OMMA advises against using or consuming an embargoed or recalled product.

If you or a caregiver bought a product that is now embargoed, please hold onto it. If a product is embargoed, there are concerns related to the production or distribution of the product, but further investigation may show the product does not need to be recalled.

If you or a caregiver has purchased a product that is now recalled, please contact the dispensary from which you bought the product for further instructions.

If a dispensary is selling a product listed on this page, please notify OMMA immediately through our complaint form.

Notify OMMA by sending an email to OMMACompliance@ok.gov as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Last Modified on Jul 30, 2022