- A physician must hold a valid, unrestricted and existing license to practice in the State of Oklahoma as a doctor of medicine, doctor of osteopathic medicine or doctor of podiatric medicine.
- The physician must establish a medical record for the patient and must have a bona fide physician-patient relationship.
- The physician must recommend a medical marijuana license according to the accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow for recommending or approving any medication.
- If applicable, the physician may certify that the patient is homebound or does not have the capability to self-administer or purchase medical marijuana due to a developmental disability or a physical or cognitive impairment; and the physician believes the patient would benefit from having a caregiver with a caregiver’s license designated to manage the patient's medical marijuana on the patient's behalf.
- The physician must verify the patient’s identity as provided in the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority Rules (442:10-1-7).
- The physician must be licensed by and in good standing with the Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Board of Osteopathic Examiners or Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners.
In 2018, Oklahoma voters approved medical marijuana through the passage of State Question 788. The law allows qualifying patients to purchase and use medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary if certain criteria are met. Patients must provide a recommendation form signed by a qualified physician.
To sign a physician recommendation form for a medical marijuana patient license, a physician must:
- Be in good standing with the State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, the State Board of Osteopathic Examiners, or the State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners;
- Use accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow when recommending any medication to a patient; and
- Not be located at the same physical address of a dispensary (including virtual appointments with patients who are at a dispensary).
New Program Changes for Physicians
- Podiatrists: Physicians licensed by and in good standing with the Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners are authorized to recommend medical marijuana. Please select this board on the Physician Recommendation Form if you are a podiatrist that meets these requirements.
- Short-term Licenses: A new short-term, 60-day medical marijuana patient license will be available for Oklahoma patients whose physician recommendation is only valid for 60 days. Patients will need to provide a Physician Recommendation Form (for Adult or Minor patients) and select this license type in their online application.
- Physician Termination of Patient Licenses: Recommending physicians will be authorized by law to terminate the license of a patient who no longer meets the requirements for the continued use of medical marijuana. Recommending physicians who wish to terminate a patient’s license must complete the Physician Termination of Patient License Form.
Yes. Physicians should use the Physician Recommendation Form (Adult Patients) or the Physician Recommendation Form (Minor Patients).
Your information will be shared on the Registered Physicians List only if you request it to be on the list.
- Contact information for the medical practice, including professional email address
- Medical licensure number
- National Provider Identifier (NPI) number
Yes. Minor applications must include the Physician Authorization Form (Minor Patients) signed by two physicians. The form and more details are available in the minor patients section of our patient licensing page.
Yes, the law now authorizes recommending physicians to terminate the license of a patient who no longer meets the requirements for the continued use of medical marijuana. Recommending physicians who wish to terminate a patient’s license must complete the Physician Termination of Patient License Form.