Skip to main content

In order to optimize compliance, OMMA is extending the credentialing deadline to Feb. 29, 2024. Background checks dated on or after Dec. 2, 2023, will be accepted. This response is necessary to address circumstances with the licensing platform that are outside of our control. Our promise to you: We are working with our licensing vendor day in and day out to fix bugs in the system as they arise. Learn more at Employee Credentialing.

Grower License

NOTE: A moratorium began Aug. 26, 2022, for new dispensary, grower and processor licenses. HB 3208 (2022), passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put the moratorium in place. HB 2095 (2023), also passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor, extended the moratorium end date to Aug. 1, 2026, unless OMMA's Executive Director determines all pending licensing reviews, inspections or investigations are complete. The moratorium does not affect current licensees, who can apply for renewal.


Quick Links


Overview

A medical marijuana grower license allows a business to legally grow marijuana for medical purposes in Oklahoma. Licensed growers can only sell to licensed processors, dispensaries and other growers.

Grower licenses are in the form of a license certificate. Licensed growers must comply with Title 63 O.S. § 420 et seq. and the Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) 442:10. Licenses are valid for one year.

Licenses are available for Oklahoma residents who are at least 25 years old. Applicants must provide documents establishing the applicant; and the members, managers, and board members, if applicable; and 75% of the commercial applicant's ownership interests are Oklahoma residents as required in the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana and Patient Protection Act, 63 O.S. § 427.1 et seq.

Owners and officers must pass a background check. Growers must ensure their property line is not within 1,000 feet of the property line of a public or private school.

A transporter license is issued simultaneously with approved grower licenses. The transporter license allows the licensee, through its licensed transporter agents, to transport their own medical marijuana and medical marijuana products to another licensed business. Anyone driving a transportation vehicle must have a transporter license and transporter agent license identification card.

OMMA processes commercial license applications within 90 business days.

Other restrictions and requirements apply. See the Commercial Application Checklist, our FAQs and our rules for more information.


Surety Bond

Grower license applicants must submit proof of one of the following to OMMA:

• A surety bond for at least $50,000 per license; or

• Proof that the licensee has owned the licensed premises for at least 5 years.

Grower licensees submitting renewal applications and applicants for new grow licenses must submit this documentation as part of their application. OMMA will verify the bond or proof of land ownership during the review process of a new or renewal license application.

Find full details on the Bond Requirement page.


Application Fee

Visit our Tiered Licensing page for full details on grower license application fees, including answers to FAQs.

Indoor, Greenhouse or Light Deprivation

Tier Canopy Size Application Fee Credit CArd Processing Fee
Total
Tier 1 Up to 10,000 sq. feet $2,500 $58.30 $2,558.30
Tier 2 10,001-20,000 sq. feet $5,000 $114.55 $5,114.55
Tier 3 20,001-40,000 sq. feet $10,000 $227.05 $10,227.05
Tier 4 40,001-60,000 sq. feet $20,000 $452.04 $20,452.04
Tier 5 60,001-80,000 sq. feet $30,000 $677.05 $30,677.05
Tier 6 80,001-99,999 sq. feet $40,000 $902.05 $40,902.05
Tier 7 100,000 sq. feet or more $50,000 + $0.25 per each additional sq. foot 2.25% of (fee + $2) Varies

 

Outdoor

Tier Size Application Fee Credit Card Processing Fee Total
Tier 1 Up to 2.5 acres $2,500 $58.30  $2,558.30
Tier 2 2.5-5 acres $5,000  $114.55 $5,114.55
Tier 3 5-10 acres $10,000 $227.05 $10,227.05
Tier 4 10-20 acres $20,000  $452.04 $20,452.04
Tier 5 20-30 acres $30,000 $677.05 $30,677.05
Tier 6 30-40 acres $40,000  $902.05 $40,902.05
Tier 7 40-50 acres $50,000 $1,127.04  $51,127.04
Tier 8 50 acres or more $50,000 + $250 for each additional acre 2.25% of (fee +$2) Varies

 



How-To Videos (Applications)

One License: Renew a Grower License (Indoor or Outdoor)

Two Licenses: Apply for Your Second Grower License (Indoor or Outdoor)


FAQs

NOTE: A moratorium began Aug. 26, 2022, for new dispensary, grower and processor licenses. HB 3208 (2022), passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put the moratorium in place. HB 2095 (2023), also passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor, extended the moratorium end date to Aug. 1, 2026, unless OMMA's Executive Director determines all pending licensing reviews, inspections or investigations are complete. The moratorium does not affect current licensees, who can apply for renewal.  
 
  • Applicants must be 25 or older.
  • Individual applicants must be Oklahoma residents.
  • Members, managers, and board members of entity applicants must all be Oklahoma residents.
  • Entities must show that at least 75% ownership held by an Oklahoma resident
  • All owners and officers must provide a background check; nonviolent felony convictions in the last two years and any other felony conviction in the last five years for any owner will disqualify the applicant.
  • Unless the business entity is a sole proprietorship or general partnership, the applying entity must submit a copy of the Oklahoma Secretary of State’s certificate of good standing document. For more information, visit the Secretary of State website.
  • Applicants must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location.
  • Applicants must provide proof that the nearest perimeter wall is not within 1,000 feet of the property line for any public or private school.
  • All medical marijuana commercial grower licensees who operate an outdoor medical marijuana production facility are required to register with the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry as an environmentally sensitive crop owner. OAC 442:10-5-1(11)
  • Proof of identity can be established by providing a digital, color copy of one of the following unexpired, valid documents:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • U.S. passport or other photo identification issued by the U.S. government
    • Tribal identification card approved for identification purposes by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety:            
      • U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card or Oklahoma tribal photo identification cards: Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma, Kiowa, Comanche, Apache of Oklahoma, Absentee Shawnee, Cheyenne-Arapaho, Choctaw, Delaware, Caddo Nation of Oklahoma issued on or after Jan. 8, 2008.
  • Oklahoma residency can be established by providing a digital, color copy of a combination of the following documents that provide proof of Oklahoma residency for the duration of the 2 or 5 years:
    • Oklahoma driver’s license (front)
    • Oklahoma identification card (front)
    • Utility bills, excluding cellular telephone and internet bills
    • A residential property deed to property in the State of Oklahoma
    • A current rental agreement for residential property located in the State of Oklahoma
    • State of Oklahoma tax returns
    • Other documentation deemed sufficient by OMMA
  • Each owner will need to supply an Affidavit of Lawful Presence Form and supporting documentation if they are not a U.S. citizen.

Yes, separate licenses are required for each location. A separate application and non-refundable application fee for each location is required. You also will need to submit a separate application and non-refundable application fee for each license type (processor, grower, dispensary, etc.).

You may use the same background check for multiple license applications as long as the background check was completed within 30 days of the application submission date.

Licenses are valid for one year from the date issued, unless the license is revoked by OMMA. Licensees may begin the renewal process 60 days before the license expires. As long as you submit a renewal application before the license expires, the license will remain active while OMMA reviews the application. If a commercial licensee wishes to renew their business license after the expiration date, they have up to 90 days to do so, but will be assessed a $500 fee.

NOTE: A moratorium began Aug. 26, 2022, for new dispensary, grower and processor licenses. HB 3208 (2022), passed by the Oklahoma Legislature and signed by the Governor, put the moratorium in place. HB 2095 (2023), also passed by the Legislature and signed by the Governor, extended the moratorium end date to Aug. 1, 2026, unless OMMA's Executive Director determines all pending licensing reviews, inspections or investigations are complete. The moratorium does not affect current licensees, who can apply for renewal.

Watch our videos to see how to apply for grower licenses. 

Review our Commercial Application Checklist to see what documentation you need before submitting a grower license application.

Yes, background checks are required for all owners and officers. Please review the instructions on our Commercial License Background Check Information sheet before submitting an application. The applicant is responsible for all costs associated with the background checks.

OMMA-licensed growers can sell to licensed processors, dispensaries or other licensed growers

Notify OMMA by filling out our Notice of Loss/Theft Form as soon as you realize product is unaccounted for because of a natural disaster. Please provide the business name, license number and details about the missing product, including Metrc RFID tag numbers if known.

Go to our Change of Ownership page for details.

Licensees can submit an attestation and accompanying documentation showing that the permit area on which the licensee will initiate or conduct commercial growing operations has been owned by the licensee for at least 5 years before submitting the application. Accompanying documents include, but are not limited to, a recorded property deed, a court order, conveyance, or other document(s) proving land ownership. Find the attestation form and more information on our Bond Requirement page.

The Surety Bond Form or Attestation of Land Ownership Form and accompanying documentation may be uploaded under the location information section of a grower license application.

A new attestation form along with the state background check will temporarily meet the national background check requirement included in HB 2095 (2023). All persons of interest and Transporter Agents must upload:

You may find rule citations on this page helpful. For a more comprehensive understanding, review all OMMA Rules at omma.ok.gov/rules. If you have questions about the rules, OMMA encourages you to seek legal counsel.

Last Modified on Feb 07, 2024