Skip to main content

Licensed Midwives Program

Our mission is to protect the public by promoting and enforcing laws and regulations which govern the practice of Licensed Midwives.

The initial application form can be found here: 

Renewal forms can be found here: 

For other documents like the annual report or documents requested by the Department, please send via email at If you need to physically mail any forms, send to:  

Licensed Midwives Program 
Oklahoma State Department of Health 
PO Box 268815 
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8815

Licensed Midwives shall file a report with the Department by the last day of January for the previous calendar year that states:

  1. The number of women for whom care was provided;
  2. The number deliveries performed;
  3. The number of prenatal transfers;
  4. The number of transfers during labor, delivery and immediately following birth;
  5. The number of perinatal deaths, including cause of death, and description of circumstance;
  6. The number and outcome of VBAC, multiple, and breech births; and
  7. The number of fetal loss after 20 weeks gestation.

All licenses must be periodically renewed to maintain their active status. It is the licensee’s responsibility to ensure their license remains current.

  • Expire three (3) years from the date of issuance.

OSDH will send reminders to expiring licensees at their last known email address at least 45 days ahead of expiration. However, be aware that non-receipt of a renewal reminder does not stop expiration of a license or assessment of a late fee.

Regardless of whether a notification reminder is received, a licensee can renew by submitting the following:

  • Completed Renewal Application
  • Documentation of current certifications listed in 310:395-7-2:
    • Affidavit of Lawful Presence
    • Proof of current certification from NARM, AMCB, or equivalent certify certification approved by the Commissioner of Health
    • Proof of current certification in neonatal resuscitation by the American Academy of Pediatrics or equivalent
    • Proof of completion of coursework or training certificate within the last 3 years in administration of medicine including injections and IV administration
    • Proof of current certification in Bloodborne Pathogen (BBP) training from the American Red Cross (ARC) or equivalent
    • Proof of current certification in CPR training for health care providers from the American Heart Association (AHA) or equivalent
  • Fee: $1,000.00 by date of expiration; $1,100.00 after 30 days (but less than 90) past expiration date; $1,250.00 after expired 90 days or more.
  • Any change in licensee personal/contact information.

Mail (check or money order)
Oklahoma State Department of Health
Licensed Midwives Program
PO Box 268815
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8815

In Person (check, money order, cash, or credit/debit card)
Oklahoma State Department of Health
123 Robert S. Kerr Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK

Teller windows are open Monday-Friday 8:30 am to 4:00 pm, and closed on weekends and state holidays.

If all required materials and fees are not received, the licensee will receive notification via email or postal mail from OSDH.

If all required materials and fees are received, an updated wallet card will be mailed to the licensee.

Maintaining up-to-date personal and contact information is crucial to being able to receive notifications, certificates, and other documentation regarding your license.

If any of your personal or contact information (such as an email address or name change) needs to be updated, please email:

If you are requesting a name change, you must submit a copy of the legal document facilitating the name change (such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree) with your request.

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
Oklahoma State Department of Health
Consumer Health Service
P.O. Box 268815                  
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8815

Physical Location:
Oklahoma State Department of Health
123 Robert S. Kerr Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK

Phone: (405) 426-8250
Fax: (405) 900-7557