A Learner Permit is a limited Driver License that allows you to practice safe driving techniques while accompanied by an experienced driver.
You can drive between 5:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. while accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old
If you have taken, or are currently enrolled & receiving instruction in Driver Education, you must be at least 15 1/2 years old to apply for a Learner Permit.
If you have not taken, or are not currently enrolled & receiving instruction in Driver Education, you must be at least 16 years old to apply for a Learner Permit.
Driver Education means one of the following:
The written exam is a 20-question test that will test you on Oklahoma traffic laws, road rules, road signs, and safe driving practices.
If you have completed Driver Education and received your completion certificate, the written portion of your test will be waived. (Parent-taught Driver Education does not qualify to waive the written test). Bring a copy of your completion certificate to your test appointment to have the written test waived.
Your vision test will be administered during your appointment. Written tests can be taken at a Licensing Office.
There is a $25.00 fee associated with tests taken at Career Tech Testing Centers and the applicant will still have to visit a Service Oklahoma Licensing Office for the vision test and to be issued the permit.
If you are over the age of 16, Driver Education is not required; however, if you are taking, or have completed Driver Education, please bring in the documentation to have the written test waived.
If you are under the age of 16 using parent taught driver education as you eligibility to test, you MUST bring both the approved parent taught affidavit and proof of purchase of the Parent Taught Program provider.
If you pass the written and vision tests, and are paying with a credit card, the permit will be printed at the Service Oklahoma Licensing Office. If you are paying with cash or a money order, the Examiner will issue a form that must be taken to a Licensed Operator to have the permit printed.
If you do not pass the written test, there will be a $4.00 fee added to the issuance fee for each failed test that can be paid upon passing.
Once you receive your permit, but before taking the drive test and graduating to an intermediate license, you must:
If you are between the ages of 16 - 18 years old, you must apply for a Learner Permit.
If you are 18+ years old, you do not need to receive a Learner Permit in order to take the drive test. However, if you choose to get a driving permit for driving practice, you will need to hold it for at least 30 days before applying for an unrestricted license.
You can re-take the drive test up to three times, each time at least one day apart or as instructed by the examiner.
If you fail the third drive test, you will have to wait 30 days before taking the test a fourth time.
The fourth attempt and any thereafter should be taken no more than one time every 30 days.
*The 30 days starts from the last drive test date.
Parent Taught Driver Education is an alternative to conventional Driver Education that is recognized by Service Oklahoma. It is offered as correspondence study through Approved Parent Taught Driver Education Providers.
The student must be at least 15 years of age in order to be eligible to start the classroom portion of the course. The student cannot start any behind the wheel training until they have a Learner Permit.
To start the process you need to access the "Parent Taught Driver's Education Packet". The packet will detail the process of how to get started and what actions need to be taken.
Parent Taught Driver Education is the newest of three forms of driver education in Oklahoma. If your public school does not offer Driver Education, if you do not attend a public school, or if there are no commercial driving schools in your area, Parent Taught Driver Education may be right for you.
If you cannot find your Parent Taught affidavit confirmation number, please email firstname.lastname@example.org to request your affidavit number.
Service Oklahoma does not accept any driving logs. Please refer to the requirements of your parent-taught provider within the course. Service Oklahoma will require the parent to verify that the permit holder has completed fifty (50) hours of driving including a minimum of ten (10) hours of driving at night from a licensed driver through the Affidavit of Driver Training form.
Complete this form if a parent is not able to be present at the time of application.