Skip to main content

Opioid Abatement Board awards first round of grants

Tuesday, June 04, 2024

OKLAHOMA CITY (June 4, 2024) – The Oklahoma Opioid Abatement Board today awarded $11 million in grant awards to 71 cities, counties, schools districts and public trusts to help address Oklahoma’s opioid crisis.

Attorney General Gentner Drummond said the grants represent the first distribution for the board. Another 31 applicants were invited to resubmit applications that were incomplete or did not cover an approved purpose.

Grants will fund treatment and recovery programs, assistance with co-occurring disorders and mental health issues, opioid abuse education and prevention, proper prescription efforts, and strategies to decrease the supply of narcotics across the state.

“Today the board took an important step in providing resources to tackle the terrible crisis we are seeing across our state when it comes to fentanyl and other deadly opioids,” Drummond said. “I am also pleased we will have the opportunity to offer additional grants once applications that did not meet the grant criteria are resubmitted.”

The largest grant awarded was $700,000 to the City of Tulsa and Tulsa Public Schools, which jointly applied to fund coordinated opioid abatement services between the Tulsa Fire Department, Tulsa Police Department and Healthy Minds Policy Initiative nonprofit. The Mayor’s Office of Resilience and Equity will oversee the funds.

Other grants include $300,000 to the Comanche County Hospital Authority to establish a women’s and children’s program for opioid-affected families, $150,000 to MetroTech to expand existing opioid abatement initiatives, and $75,000 to Woodward County for opioid abuse education and prevention programs targeting middle school and high school students.

Grants will be distributed as soon as recipients return their award agreements.

In 2022, there were nearly 800 opioid-related deaths in Oklahoma, according to the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs. Of those, fentanyl was responsible for 619 fatal overdoses.

The following applicants were approved for grant awards:


  • Adair County
  • Cherokee County
  • Cleveland County
  • Creek County
  • Kingfisher County
  • Leflore County
  • Lincoln County
  • Mayes County
  • Muskogee County
  • Oklahoma County
  • Okmulgee County
  • Payne County
  • Pontotoc County
  • Seminole County
  • Tulsa County
  • Wagoner County
  • Woodward County


  • Bartlesville
  • Bixby
  • Edmond
  • Lawton
  • Lone Grove
  • Muskogee
  • Norman
  • Okmulgee
  • Pryor Creek
  • Shawnee
  • Stilwell
  • Tahlequah

School Districts:

  • Bartlesville
  • Bethany
  • Checotah
  • Comanche
  • Dickson
  • Edmond
  • Guthrie
  • Guymon
  • Hillsdale
  • Jenks
  • Keys
  • Lindsay
  • Marietta
  • Maysville
  • Metro Technology Centers
  • Moore
  • Mosely
  • Norman
  • Pawhuska
  • Perkins-Tryon
  • Purcell
  • Sand Springs
  • Shawnee
  • South Coffeyville
  • Stigler
  • Stillwater
  • Stillwell
  • Tishomingo
  • Union
  • Warner
  • Western Heights
  • Westville


  • Cardinal Point Public Trust
  • Comanche County Memorial Hospital Authority
  • Grady Memorial Hospital Authority
  • McAlester Regional Health Center Authority
  • Norman Regional Hospital Authority
  • Southwestern Oklahoma Development Authority
  • Tahlequah Hospital Authority

Joint Applications:

  • Jackson County and City of Altus
  • Rogers County and City of Claremore
  • City of Tulsa and Tulsa Public Schools

The following applicants were invited to resubmit applications in accordance with grant criteria:


  • Hughes County
  • Haskell County
  • Larimer County
  • McCurtain County
  • Osage County
  • Pittsburg County
  • Multi-County coalition of: 
    • Beckham County
    • Caddo County
    • Comanche County
    • Cotton County
    • Custer County
    • Grady County
    • Greer County
    • Harmon County
    • Jefferson County
    • Kiowa County
    • Stephens County
    • Tilman County


  • Gore
  • Guymon
  • Haileyville
  • Hartshorne
  • Hugo
  • Ponca City
  • Savanna
  • Slaughterville
  • Warr Acres

School Districts:

  • Lawton
  • Northwest Technology Center
  • Owasso

Joint Application:

Broken Arrow Public Schools and City of Broken Arrow

Last Modified on Jun 18, 2024