Skip to main content

Oklahoma acknowledges the traditional and sacred use of tobacco among Native American/American Indian people living in Oklahoma. 

Laws & Regulations

Oklahoma has several state laws governing tobacco use for its people, including people under 21, and to provide clean indoor air in various public places. Specifically, Title 21 and Title 63 in Oklahoma state statute which addresses tobacco use and smoking.  

Questions about marijuana? How to contact OMMA

While many of the same statute sections refer to the use of marijuana in Oklahoma, there is a specific state agency tasked with regulating marijuana in Oklahoma. For specific questions or concerns about marijuana, please reach out to the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority via the web or by calling OMMA at (405) 522-6662 between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

T-21 – Raising the Federal Minimum Age of Sale of Tobacco Products to 21

In 2019, President Donald Trump signed the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and raised the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products from 18 to 21 years. To ensure that retailers across the state of Oklahoma are aware of this change in the law, several state partners including the Oklahoma State Department of Health, the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, the Alcoholic Beverage Law Enforcement Commission and the Oklahoma Attorney General’s Office share resources and education with retailers. 

For more information on retailer education, please visit the Validate Campaign.

A quick reference guide for how the federal law regarding minimum age for sale of tobacco products has changed can be found here.

Title 10A (§10A-2-8-224) in Oklahoma state statute also outlines the penalties for purchase, use, or possession of tobacco by an individual under 21 years of age.

If you have a specific question about Oklahoma’s state statutes tobacco purchase, use or possession by individuals under 21 please contact our offices

Smoking In Public Places

Oklahoma state law prohibits smoking in many public places, including public transportation, government buildings and state-owned property, nursing facilities, educational facilities as well as career and technology centers. Designated outdoor smoking areas are sometimes allowed when the proper guidelines are followed.

  • Title 21 and 63 in state statute outline business types that are exempted from clean indoor air legislation. 
  • Stand-alone bars, up to 25% of guest rooms in hotels, in home childcare centers (when children are not present) and casinos are exempted from clean indoor air prohibitions. 
  • Additionally, rooms hosting licensed charitable bingo games are exempted during the hours of those games.  

Oklahoma state law allows every private business, local jurisdiction or other organization to adopt a voluntary smoke free policy.  Sample policies are available in the Resources section near the bottom of this page.

If you have a specific question about Oklahoma’s state statutes governing smoking in public places, please visit our Contact Us page

Request Materials

To request decals and/or signage, please visit our Request Materials page.

Contact Us

For answers to any questions, inquiries, or technical assistance needs, please visit our Contact Us page. Include basic information on what your needs are, if anything is time sensitive, the best way to contact you and include time of day in the comment box and someone will reach out to you within 2-3 business days.


Contact Information

Mailing Address:
Oklahoma State Department of Health
Chronic Disease Prevention Services
Tobacco Prevention & Control Program
123 Robert S. Kerr Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK  73102-6406

Physical Address:
Oklahoma State Department of Health
123 Robert S. Kerr Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK


Back to Top