Skip to main content

OSDH Shares Expanded Eligibility Criteria for Monkeypox Vaccine

Friday, September 16, 2022

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) is moving to Phase 3 in the JYNNEOS vaccine rollout beginning Monday, Sept. 19th.

Those newly eligible include:

  • Persons with an HIV diagnosis
  • Any man who has sex with men and has had a syphilis diagnosis within the last 12 months
  • Persons in a high-risk occupation, such as, sex professionals or persons who exchange sex for drugs, money, housing, or safety
  • Partners of individuals meeting criteria for PEP++
  • Women who are currently having sexual contact with a person who identifies as gay, a bisexual man, or a man who has sex with men
  • Healthcare workers providing direct patient care to persons who may be infected with monkeypox
    • Urgent care providers who provide direct patient care
    • Emergency room providers who provide direct patient care
    • Laboratory workers working with monkeypox specimens
    • Healthcare workers diagnosing and/or treating patients with STIs

“We feel confident we have enough JYNNEOS vaccine in the state to offer the opportunity for vaccination to more Oklahomans,” said Jolianne Stone, the State’s Epidemiologist. “We encourage those who are eligible to contact their trusted healthcare provider if they have any questions.”

Since the FDA approved an alternative dosing approach to increase the amount of available doses in each vial, one to now four to five doses, the state’s supply has greatly increased.

If an individual believes they meet the vaccine criteria they can contact their local county health department, call 211 option 8 or talk with their trusted healthcare provider.

For more information on monkeypox or to view the full list of criteria, visit Monkeypox (

The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) protects and improves public health through its system of local health services and strategies focused on preventing disease. OSDH provides technical support and guidance to 68 county health departments in Oklahoma, as well as guidance and consultation to the two independent city-county health departments in Oklahoma City and Tulsa. Learn more at