Skip to main content

OSDH Expands Eligibility Criteria for Monkeypox Vaccine

Friday, September 02, 2022

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) is expanding eligibility criteria for the JYNNEOS vaccine to now include pre-exposure prophylaxis (PreP).

Those newly eligible include anyone who identifies as a gay or bisexual man, man who has sex with men, or transgender person and plans to engage in sex with two or more partners, sex at a commercial sex venue, sex in association with an event or venue, or sex in a geographical area where monkeypox is circulating in the community at high levels, in the near future.

“We are excited to move to the next phase of our JYNNEOS vaccine rollout and offer vaccine to more Oklahomans,” said Jolianne Stone, the State’s Epidemiologist. “We know vaccines play a critical role in helping to stop the transmission of many diseases, including monkeypox.”

The FDA’s approval of an alternative dosing approach increasing the amount each JYNNEOS vial offers, one vial of the vaccine now produces four to five doses, greatly increased Oklahoma’s supply.

“The rollout of the JYNNEOS vaccine has been an ever-evolving process and we are keeping a close watch on the amount of vaccine we have in the state,” said Stone. “At this point, we are confident we have a sufficient supply of vaccine to equitably distribute it to this next group of individuals.”

If an individual believes they meet criteria for a vaccine they can contact to their local county health department, call 211 option 8 or talk with their trusted healthcare provider.

For more information on monkeypox or to view the full list of criteria visit, Monkeypox (

The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) protects and improves public health through its system of local health services and strategies focused on preventing disease. OSDH provides technical support and guidance to 68 county health departments in Oklahoma, as well as guidance and consultation to the two independent city-county health departments in Oklahoma City and Tulsa. Learn more at