Skip to main content

About BRIC and FMA

Application periods for FEMA's FY2023 Building Resistent Infrastructure and Communities program (BRIC) and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) is now closed. For Oklahoma applicants, more information is available below.

Important Dates

  • Application period opened: October 16, 2023
  • FEMA Application Deadline: 5 p.m. on January 19, 2024 (apply in FEMA GO)
  • Please email if an application is submitted

Notice of Funding Opportunities

Federal Cost Share and Management Costs

  • Generally, both BRIC and FMA have a 75% federal cost share and 25% non-federal cost share, however there are some exceptions listed in the bullets below.
  • Projects for Economically Disadvantaged Rural Communities and projects that benefit a Community Disaster Resilience Zone have up to 90% federal share.
  • Up to 100% federal share for management costs.

Benefit Cost Analysis (BCA) Updates

  • BRIC and FMA projects less than $1 million may opt to use a cost effectiveness narrative in lieu of the BCA toolkit.
  • Projects benefitting Economically Disadvantaged Rural Communities, or projects benefitting Community Disaster Resilience Zones that are unable to calculate a Benefit Cost Ration (BCR) FEMA may assist them with developing the BCA.  Additionally, for projects with a total cost of less than $1 million that qualify for BCA assistance under this provision are not required to submit a cost-effective narrative.

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Funding Highlights

  • FMA program aims to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to structures.
  • Eligible projects include planning, technical assistance, and structural and non-structural mitigation activities.
  • Funding is available for flood-related projects, including floodplain mapping, property acquisition, and elevation.  Elevations/Acquisition must have a NFIP backed insurance policy.
  • To be eligible, community must participate and be in good standing with the NFIP.  

BRIC Funding Highlights

  • Total Program Value: $1 billion
  • State/Territory Allocation: Up to $2 million per applicant, with a minimum of $400,000 allocated for capability- and capacity-building activities benefiting Community Disaster Resilience Zones.
  • Building Codes "Plus-Up": An additional $112 million set aside for eligible building code adoption and enforcement activities.
  • National Competition for Hazard Mitigation Projects: Estimated $701 million, with a maximum federal share of $50 million per project.

BRIC Direct Technical Assistance (BRIC DTA)

BRIC DTA provides tailored support to communities and tribal nations that may not have resources internally needed to develop and apply for a BRIC project. Please note the deadlines and application process are different than applying for BRIC. See the bullets below for details.

  • FEMA will select at least 80 new BRIC DTA communities.
  • No requirement for hazard mitigation plans to request BRIC DTA.
  • Deadline for BRIC DTA assistance requests: February 29, 2024.
  • Apply for BRIC DTA online.