Skip to main content

Unemployment Benefits

Verify your eligiility for LWA benefits HERE if you received unemployment 8/1 - 9/5.

Steps to Apply for Unemployment

Unemployment Insurance (UI) helps eligible workers who have lost their job, or are on reduced hours, by providing temporary supplemental income. If you meet the below criteria, you may apply for benefits.

  • You are unemployed through no fault of your own
  • You are able and available to work
  • You must have earned a minimum of $1,500 during your base period
    • The base period is the first four of the previous five completed calendar quarters.

Through the CARES Act, the federal government has extended unemployment benefits to those would would not traditionally qualify, including self-employed, contract, and gig workers, through the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program.

In order to complete your application, you'll need the following information and documents.

  • Social Security Number
  • Name, mailing address, telephone number, and e-mail address
  • Alien registration number and expiration date, if a non-citizen
  • Oklahoma Driver's License or state-issued ID card number
  • Name and address of the company on your paycheck stub or W-2 form
  • Employment start and end date
  • Wages earned and how you were paid (hourly, weekly, monthly)
  • Form SF8 or SF 50 if employed by the Federal government in the last 18 months
  • DD Form 214 for military service in the previous 18 months

  • Create an account on ui.ok.gov. Be sure to complete the process to connect your social security number to your account.
  • Login to your account and follow the link to start a Traditional Unemployment Compensation application.
    • To progress through the application, use the next and back buttons in the application itself. Using the 'Back' button in your browser will lose your progress.
    • Completing the application can take up to an hour based on your individual requirements.
    • Closing the application window before completion will require you to start over.
  • Once you have completed your application, you will receive a letter informing you of the determination on your claim.
  • If your application is denied, you may be eligible to receive Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA). To file for PUA, navigate back to your account on ui.ok.gov, and file an initial PUA claim.

  • Verify your identity online at UI.ok.gov, or by visiting a local Oklahoma Works office. Please note that you will need 2 forms of ID when verifying in-person.
  • Create an OKJobMatch account within seven (7) days of your initial file.
  • Perform two (2) work search efforts each week benefits are claimed. Keep a record of these work searches for auditing purposes, by using a tracker such as our Work Search Form.
    • This can be done through okjobmatch.com, as well as other websites such as Indeed.com or LinkedIn.com
  • File weekly claims on UI.ok.gov for every week you are unemployed. Weekly claims are necessary to receive benefits. Weeks run Sunday to Saturday, so you must file Sunday or later for the previous week.

Your benefits will paid to you on an Unemployment Insurance debit card. The card will be issued to you at the time your first eligible week processes. It may take 1-2 weeks to receive your card. Do not throw the debit card away, as you will need it to retrieve funds or set up a bank transfer to put the funds in your personal bank.

If you have received unemployment benefits in the past three (3) years, you will have to use your existing card or request a new one.

For more information on your debit card visit www.goprogram.com.

CARES Act & Continued Assistance Act - Federal Programs

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)

This CARES Act program initially provided thirty-nine (39) weeks of unemployment benefits for gig, contract, and self-employed workers from 2/2/20 through 12/26/20. Claimants must be denied regular Unemployment Insurance to be eligible for PUA. With the Continued Assistance Act, these benefits have been extended an additional eleven (11) weeks, up to a total of fifty (50) weeks. This extension ends 3/13/21, but claimants who have benefits remaining on 3/14/21 may continue to receive those benefits until 4/5/21 or until benefits are exhausted.

Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)

This CARES Act program initially provided up to thirteen (13) weeks of extended benefits for individuals who have exhausted their regular Unemployment Insurance benefits. These benefits were initially available between 3/29/20 through 12/26/20. With the Continued Assistance Act, these benefits have been extended an additional eleven (11) weeks, up to a total of twenty-four (24) weeks. This extension ends 3/13/21, but claimants who have benefits remaining on 3/14/21 may continue to receive those benefits until 4/5/21 or until benefits are exhausted.

Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) 

This CARES Act program initially provided an extra $600 on top of regular UI, PUA, and PEUC payments. These funds originally discontinued after 7/25/20. With the new Continued Assistance Act, benefits now include an extra $300 on top of UI, PUA, and PEUC payments. This new benefit is effective 12/27/20 through 3/14/21.

 

Work Search & Registration

Reemployment Booklet

Click HERE for a Work Search Form template.

ID Verification Best Practices


Frequently Asked Questions - Individuals

The recently passed legislation includes additional funds and extended benefit weeks for PUA and PEUC claimants. The federal package also includes a new round of FPUC, a $300 weekly federal benefit for all claim types, and MEUC, an additional $100 weekly federal benefit​for "mixed earners" that are UI claimants who received at least $5,000 in wages from a side gig or business. These programs have been extended to March 13, 2021. This legislation does not include any provisions for SEB, which has ended for Oklahoma. 

The Federal DOL has advised that the first benefit week claimants could be eligible for these programs is the claim week that started December 27 and ended January 2. This means there is not a lapse in benefit weeks from the original CARES Act programs for PEUC and PUA claimants. FPUC, PUA, and PEUC benefits will be available through March 13, 2021. Individuals who have not maxed out their benefit weeks as of March 14, 2021 can continue receiving PUA or PEUC benefits until April 5, 2021 or when they exhaust their total benefit weeks, but claimants must have received benefits the week ending March 14 to be eligible for the additional weeks through April 5th.

OESC is actively working to get these benefits distributed as quickly as possible and we continue to receive guidance from the Federal DOL. We are on track to deliver these benefits to claimants by the end of January, with expected payment currently set for the filing period starting January 24. 

OESC has taken a phased approach to implement necessary changes and pay out benefits to groups of claimants as soon as the system is ready based on ongoing information received from the Federal DOL.

- Phase 1: The first phase of claimants began receiving payment on January 8. This included claimants who had not yet been paid out the maximum amount of benefits in the previous calendar year.

- Phase 2: We are actively working to implement the next phase of payments, which includes FPUC for all claim types, people who had exhausted their benefits in 2020, or who were on SEB when it ended in December 2020. We are on track to deliver these benefits to claimants by the end of January, with expected payment currently set for the filing period starting January 24.

- Phase 3: This phase covers claimants who do not fall into the first two categories and will be ongoing through the beginning of February. 

Yes, these benefits will be available retroactively to the benefit week spanning December 27 to January 2. When payments begin, claimants will receive both their weekly benefit amount and the weekly $300 FPUC payment for any eligible weeks dating back to the program effective date. 

Yes, if you have the option to file, please continue doing so weekly. 

Most claimants should have the option to file. However, if you are still unable to file at this time, please know OESC is continuing to work on making the necessary changes so that all claimants can file for these new benefits. 

All active claim types, including regular UI, PEUC, and PUA, are eligible for this $300 weekly federal benefit. FPUC does not have the same minimum benefit threshold as the previous LWA program; claimants receiving any amount of benefits will be eligible for FPUC on top of their weekly amount for that claim week.

This means you were paid on the remainder of your old benefit, but that payment exhausted your original benefit amount. You will be included in the next phase of payments and will start receiving payments on the remainder of the new claim on the filing week of January 24.

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance, originally the 39 weeks of federal benefits for self-employed, gig, or contract workers, will now be available to claimants through March 13, 2021, or up to 50 total weeks of eligibility, whichever comes first. We are working with the Federal DOL for guidance on potential requirements for additional documentation that will be required. OESC will provide more information as we receive this guidance.

Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation, originally the 13 week extension that follows UI will now be available to claimants through March 13, 2021, or up to 24 total weeks of eligibility, whichever comes first. This includes an additional 11 weeks of benefits that can be accessed. OESC is also working with the US DOL to get guidance on the documentation needed from claimants who are eligible for MEUC and will provide information once we receive this information.  

Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation benefits will resume with $300 weekly payments for an additional 11 weeks through March 13, 2021. Claimants must receive UI, PEUC, or PUA to qualify for each week of FPUC benefits. Per federal guidelines, FPUC benefits are effective starting December 27, 2020 and will not be paid on claims from July 27 to December 26, 2020.

The Federal DOL set an end date of December 12, 2020 for the SEB program. The new federal legislation does not change this or reinstate the program. SEB is not part of the new legislative package, but claimants who were previously on SEB are most likely eligible for the additional 11 weeks of benefits provided by PEUC. 

Individuals utilizing UI.ok.gov, our new filing site, to submit their weekly claims must verify their identity to continue receiving unemployment benefits. Verification will need to be done again in the new system for anyone who has previously faxed or mailed in identification, or provided it to a local office. Click HERE to find an office near you to verify in-person if you are unable to verify online.

Individuals using the automated phone system, or the old website with the blue and grey header, to file weekly claims are NOT required to verify their identity online at this time.

To further protect your personal information and prevent fraud, Oklahoma Employment Security Commission (OESC) has implemented an identity verification security feature. You must verify your identity every 90 days.

​​​​​​Non-residents of Oklahoma are required to verify their identity. Verify your identity online with VerifyOK or visit an Oklahoma Works Office nearest you to complete your verification.

Visit a local library or other public facility with computer access, or your nearest Oklahoma Works office for computer access. Also, identity verification is available and optimized for mobile devices, so you can use your smartphone or tablet to verify your identity.

  • ​​​​​​Take a picture with a phone or tablet and upload directly into the application
  • Use a digital camera to take your picture, or use saved photos on your computer or even social media (ensuring it fits the guidelines).
  • If scanning IDs on a printer, you will need to save them as a JPG/JPEG or PNG format. Depending on your printer, you may need to convert from a PDF to these required formats.

Accepted Forms of ID Online

  • Driver’s License from any US State
  • State-issued Identification Card
  • Resident Card / Green Card
  • Passport

Invalid Forms of ID Online

  • ID not issued by the US
  • Letter of introduction
  • ID without a photo
  • Military ID
  • Tribal Card
  • Medical Marijuana Card
  • Concealed Carry Permit

If you can’t verify your identity online, then you will need to visit an Oklahoma Works Office to complete your verification. Find an office near you. Upon arriving at the office, you will be required to have your temperature taken and wear a facemask. 

Bring two (2) forms of identification, one (1) primary and one (1) secondary ID. See below for a list of acceptable primary and secondary IDs. Please note, these differ from the accepted forms for online verification.

Primary

  • Driver’s License or State issued ID
  • US Passport or Foreign Passport with I-551
  • Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card
  • US Military ID, including spouse or dependent’s ID
  • Native American ID with photo
  • School ID with photo

Secondary

  • Social Security Card
  • Native American Tribal document
  • Certified Birth Certificate
  • Voter’s Registration Card
  • Other State-issued ID with photo

Once you begin, you will have 30-minutes before your session times out. If you do not complete the process within the 30-minute window your progress may be lost.

To qualify for the LWA program, claimants must be receiving at least $100 in benefits from OESC, received unemployment benefits between 8/1 and 9/5, and be in one of the eligible groups below:

  • The individual has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and is seeking a medical diagnosis;
  • A member of the individual’s household has been diagnosed with COVID-19;
  • The individual is providing care for a family member or a member of the individual’s household who has been diagnosed with COVID-19;
  • A child or other person in the household for which the individual has primary caregiving responsibility is unable to attend school or another facility that is closed as a direct result of the COVID-19 public health emergency and such school or facility care is required for the individual to work;
  • The individual is unable to reach the place of employment because of a quarantine imposed as a direct result of the COVID-19 public health emergency;
  • The individual is unable to reach the place of employment because the individual has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-19;
  • The individual was scheduled to commence employment and does not have a job or is unable to reach the job as a direct result of the COVID-19 public health emergency;
  • The individual has become the breadwinner or major support for a household because the head of the household has died as a direct result of COVID-19;
  • The individual has to quit his or her job as a direct result of COVID-19;
  • The individual’s place of employment is closed as a direct result of the COVID-19 public health emergency.
  • The individual is an independent contractor or gig worker with reportable income who experienced a significant loss of work due to COVID-19.

Claimants who qualify for this benefit will receive a $300 weekly benefit through FEMA. Oklahoma will fulfill the 25 percent state match through funding that is already paid out to claimants in regular unemployment benefits.

FEMA and the Department of Labor have chosen to cap the LWA program at 6 weeks of benefits. The 6-week cap is the same for all states; OESC and the state of Oklahoma have applied for the maximum amount of benefits available. This means the maximum amount of benefits an individual can receive is $1,800.

Benefits payments will be for Aug. 1 through Sept. 5, which are the six (6) weeks available for this program. These payments will be retroactively available. 

Like the majority of states that have applied for the Lost Wages Assistance program, Oklahoma has opted to fulfill the state match of $100 through existing unemployment benefits.

The $100 minimum benefit requirement for the LWA program is based on the pre-tax benefit amount.

 

Unemployment insurance is a temporary income intended for individuals who have experienced a loss of work due to no fault of their own when suitable work is not available. In some cases, workers who quit their jobs may qualify. When filing your initial claim, you will be asked to provide the reason for separation from your last employer of 15 days or longer.  

Traditional unemployment insurance is an insurance paid by Oklahoma employers, and is not available for self-employed, contract, or gig workers. Certain Federal programs may extend unemployment benefits to these groups though.

If you quit or resigned, an issue (hold) will be placed on your claim until a determination of eligibility is made by OESC.  An individual shall be disqualified for benefits for leaving his or her last work voluntarily without good cause (reference Oklahoma Employment Security Act section 2-405 for more information). There are also certain provisions for leaving work due to compelling family circumstances (reference Oklahoma Employment Security Act section 2-210 for more information).  

If you were discharged or fired, an issue (hold) will be placed on your claim until a determination of eligibility is made by OESC.  An individual shall be disqualified for benefits if he/she has been discharged for misconduct connected with his/her work. The applicable law regarding this topic can be found in the Oklahoma Employment Security Act under Section 2-406. 

The U.S. Department of Labor has established the timeliness standard of twenty-one (21) days for a determination of eligibility, whether it is an approval or denial.  Please note that the 21-day timeframe is calculated from the day a claim becomes monetarily eligible.

To check the status of your claim, visit ui.ok.gov or unemployment.state.ok.us where you can find information regarding the status of your application, recent activity, monetary entitlement, and determinations of eligibility.  

After your initial application for unemployment, OESC will send a Monetary Determination stating your Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA) and Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA). You can also access information about your claim, including monetary entitlements, by visiting ui.ok.gov. For information on how these amounts are calculated, please refer to the Oklahoma Employment Security Act Article 2, sections 104 & 106

Beginning October 25, 2020, all claimants filing new unemployment claims will be required to serve the one week waiting-period per Oklahoma law (§40-2-206). The first week individuals file a weekly claim during which all eligibility requirements are met will be considered the waiting period and will have no payments issued. Please note, no funds are lost due to this process. It is just a delay, to allow identity and employment verification, prior to dispersing funds.

This requirement was initially waived due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Executive Orders issued by the Governor and OESC Executive Director that waived these requirements expires October 24, 2020.

  • Verify your identity online at UI.ok.gov, or by visiting a local Oklahoma Works office. Please note that you will need 2 forms of ID when verifying in-person.
  • Create an OKJobMatch account within seven (7) days of your initial file.
  • Perform two (2) work search efforts each week benefits are claimed.
    • This can be done through okjobmatch.com, as well as other websites such as Indeed.com or LinkedIn.com, but a log must be kept of efforts for auditing purposes.
  • File weekly claims on UI.ok.gov for every week you are unemployed. Weekly claims are necessary to receive benefits.
  • Attend all required groups and appointments you may be scheduled for.

You can file an appeal in person, by mail, fax, telephone or email. Include your name, social security number, phone number, date of determination, section of law you are appealing and a detailed explanation of why you disagree with the decision. The mailing address, fax number, telephone number and email address will be listed on your determination.

The separating employer is the most recent employer for whom you have worked 15 days or more. This applies to individuals who are temporarily laid off and to those who have completely separated from employment. 

You may file a claim upon separation from employment.  However, when filing your initial claim you must report the details of the severance package, and any other payments made to you by your employer after separation.  A determination will be made as to whether or not the severance payment is deductible from your unemployment benefits.  

Unemployment Insurance benefits are subject to federal and state income tax. You must report unemployment benefits you receive when you file your income taxes. By January 31 of each year, the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission will send you a form 1099-G with the amount of benefits you received the prior year. You may elect to have federal and state taxes withheld from your weekly unemployment benefits. If you choose to have taxes withheld, federal taxes of 10% and state taxes of 3% will be deducted from the gross amount of your payment each week.

If a claim is ‘not monetarily eligible’, that means there were not sufficient covered wages in your base period. The base period is the period of time that we look at to determine monetary eligibility, which is the first four of the previous five completed calendar quarters (appx. previous 6-18 months).  This means your most recent employer may not be included in the base period.

There are two requirements to be monetarily eligible.  First, you must have earned at least $1500 during the base period.  Second, the highest quarter of taxable wages must be less than 2x’s the total wages in the remaining three quarters of the base period.  The second rule is waived if base period wage have met or exceeded the taxable limit.  The taxable limit for 2019 was $18,100.  For 2020 it is $18,700.

Yes; however, you must report the amount of money you earned before any deductions were made. Earnings must be reported during the week you earn them, not when you actually receive the payment or paycheck. Work is anything you do for wages, including self-employment, during the seven days of the week you are claiming Unemployment Insurance benefits.

If you are the victim of domestic violence or abuse and if it has resulted in your separation from employment, you may be eligible for unemployment insurance (UI) benefits. Oklahoma law states: “If the claimant separated from employment due to domestic violence or abuse, verified by any reasonable or confidential documentation, which causes the individual to reasonably believe that the individual’s continued employment would jeopardize the safety of the individual or of any member of the individual’s immediate family.”

For additional information and assistance, please visit your nearest Oklahoma Works office.. For those transitioning between careers, OESC provides training, educational opportunities, skill-building, resume assistance, networking, and job referrals.

Due to a spike in fraudulent activity, the one-time transfer rule which allows customers to transfer money from the debit card to a bank account will be temporarily suspended. This will not affect direct deposit transfers or debit card registration. In addition, individuals will still be able to complete a bank teller withdrawal free of charge. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Please call our vendor Conduent at 866-320-8699 or visit www.goprogram.com for assistance on any of the below issues.

  • I have my card but I need to reset my pin.
  • I have an account with GoProgram.com, but no longer have a card.
    • Use the self-service option online to verify your address, and then request a new card.
    • If you last received benefits more than 3 years ago a new card will be automatically issued.
  • I have a forwarded address with the USPS or a PO Box as my address.  Debit cards will not be forwarded automatically by USPS or delivered to a P.O. Box.  Addresses need to be updated through OESC, not Conduent and then a new card requested.
    • Note: There are many apartment buildings that are not receiving expedited packages to individuals.
  • I’ve received confirmation from OESC that I am eligible for benefits and have a payment or deposit on my account, but I don’t have a card.
    • If you have recently applied for benefits then a card may be on its way.  Check your self-service options, if that is not possible call Conduent and have the status of your card.
  • I have my card, but I don’t know my pin.
    • Check the website self-service option below first and then call.
  • Conduent provides online and access to your account balances and transaction through both phone 1-866-320-8699 and web site.  
 

Conduent is not able to answer these questions:

  • When will I receive a payment or a deposit?
    • Deposits are sent from OESC to Conduent based on the determination from OESC and claimants successfully completing their weekly certification claim.
  • When will I receive a card? 
    • Cards are mailed within 2 business days and are delivered by USPS.  Mail delivery times can vary in your area.  Expedited cards cannot be delivered to P. O. Boxes. Cards issued via USPS are not eligible to be forwarded.
  • I’m receiving errors on my weekly filing, what do I do?
  • When will my benefits be approved?
  • I’m self-employed, how do I receive benefits?
  • I have received my letter indicating that I have benefits and I’ve lost my previous card that is older than 3 years?
    • In this case, a new card will be issued with a new expiration date to the address on file.  Check the web portal self-service option to validate your address.

When filing for unemployment, claimants will be issued a debit card that all unemployment payments will be dispersed to. OESC does not issue checks. Claimants can use the debit card as a regular debit card by activating it upon receipt, or set up direct deposit by transferring the payments from the debit card into your own U.S. banking account, for no fee. To set up direct deposit, claimants must have received their card first to set up the process.

If claimants have previously been issued a debit card for unemployment payments within the past three (3) years, the new payments will be issued to that debit card unless otherwise specified.  If that card is no longer accessible, please contact our payment processing vendor Conduent at 1-866-320-8699 or by visiting www.goprogram.com

An Unemployment Insurance benefit debit card will be issued to you at the time your first eligible week processes.  It normally takes between 7 - 18 days to receive the card. Do not throw the debit card away. It is valid for three years. If you have previously been issued a debit card for payment within the past three years, your payment will be issued to that debit card unless otherwise specified.  If you no longer have your previously issued debit card, please contact Conduent at 1-866-320-8699.

Cards can be expedited by Conduent, but there is a fee for the additional mailing costs.  These will be deducted from the balance on the card.  There is a limited number of debit cards Conduent can issue in a single day, so in rare cases claimants may be unable to expedite cards.

Benefit payments are typically made within 2-3 days of the weekly certification claim being filed. By law, the first payable (or allowable) week of the claim is considered to be a waiting period. Although you must still file your weekly claim (either by phone or internet), you will not be paid for the waiting period week.

No benefits will be paid if:

  • there are insufficient wages to establish monetary eligibility
  • there are issues are being investigated, or
  • you do not file your weekly claim.

Please call our debit card vendor Conduent at 866-320-8699. You will need to verify your identity with them so they can remove the flag.

If there is an 'issue' on your claim that is preventing payment, OESC must investigate the issue and determine whether you are eligible to receive benefits. That process can take varying amounts of time to resolve depending on the issue. If you are approved, payments will be backdated to the date the claim was filed. 

To stop your claim, simply discontinue filing weekly claims.  No additional payments will be made. To cancel your claim please submit a copy of your Social Security card and government issued ID, along with a written statement detailing the reason for the request.  You may fax the request to 405-962-7524.

Weekly claims must be filed within fourteen (14) days of the week ending date to be considered timely.  Claims which are filed untimely may not be paid.

Contact our Customer Service Center at 405-525-1500 if you encounter any problems when filing your weekly claim. You may also visit one of our local Oklahoma Works offices to receive assistance.

If you are medically impacted by COVID, you are exempt from making weekly work search efforts. When completing a weekly claim, answer "yes" to the question, "Did you make the required number of work search efforts for the week ending ___?"

Claimants should keep personal files of medical impact documentation, as these may be requested in lieu of work search efforts.

Our customer service representatives do not have access to view your PIN. If you forgot your number or want to change it, you can reset your PIN online, visit a local Oklahoma Works office, or call us at 405-525-1500 to have a representative reset your PIN so you can establish a new one.

There were two (2) extensions for traditional Unemployment Insurance claims authorized during the pandemic. 

  • The CARES Act Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) program, which is up to a thirteen (13) week extension. This program ends 12/26/2020.
  • The State of Oklahoma, in conjunction with Department of Labor requirements, then implemented State Extended Benefits (SEB), which adds up to another thirteen (13) week extension. This program ends 12/12/2020.

There are no extensions available for individuals filing for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA).

State Extended Benefits provide claimants with up to thirteen (13) additional weeks of benefit payments. This program is not part of the CARES Act and has its own requirements set forth by the Department of Labor.

This program ends Dec. 12, 2020. 

To change information such as your address, please visit ui.ok.gov, or you may call our Service Center or visit a local Oklahoma Works office.

Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) is a federal program that provides up to an extra 13 weeks of unemployment benefits for individuals who have exhausted their regular unemployment insurance benefits The effective dates for this program are 3-29-20 to 12-26-20.

To qualify for PEUC benefits, an individual must:

  • Have a benefit year ending after 7-1-2019

  • Must have exhausted regular benefit allowance

 

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) is a federal benefit included in the CARES Act in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. This program provides up to 39 weeks of unemployment benefits to self-employed, contract, and gig workers who are not traditionally eligible for regular Unemployment Insurance (UI). This program remains in effect until 12/26/2020.

PUA is available to unemployed individuals not eligible for regular Unemployment Insurance (UI), State Extended Benefits (SEB), and Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (PEUC). It does not include individuals able to telework with pay or individuals receiving paid sick or other leave.

PEUC: Individuals whose benefit year has ended since 7-1-2019 will be required to file a new regular unemployment claim before allowing a PEUC claim to be established. This is to determine eligibility for regular unemployment benefits. If the individual is monetarily eligible for a new regular unemployment claim, that claim will be established and paid rather than the PEUC regardless of the change in the Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA). Individuals who establish a new claim that is not monetarily eligible will be allowed to file a PEUC claim.

PUA: Apply for traditional UI, which must be denied first, before being able to file for an initial PUA claim and subsequent PUA weekly claims.

Please go to ui.ok.gov to file for either type of claim.

Individuals who are still within a benefit year will be eligible for their regular unemployment claim WBA when filing for PEUC.

The computation of the weekly assistance amount for PUA will be based on the gross wages for an unemployed worker and net earnings for self-employed individuals. All wages earned for the performance of services in the most recently completed tax year (2019) will be used to compute the weekly assistance amount.

The weekly assistance amount will be calculated in accordance with Oklahoma Employment Security Law. The weekly amount shall be the weekly amount of compensation that the individual would have been paid as regular unemployment insurance compensation unless the weekly benefit amount is less than 50% of the average weekly payment of regular unemployment insurance benefits. The maximum weekly assistance amount shall not exceed the maximum weekly benefit amount of regular unemployment insurance benefits payable in the state. Employment, wages, and self-employment that are not covered by the Oklahoma Employment Security Law shall be treated in the same manner and with the same effect as covered employment and wages. Employment and wages that are prohibited by federal law shall not be included in the computation of weekly assistance amount.

Unemployment benefits are subject to federal and state income tax. You must report unemployment benefits you receive when you file your income taxes. By January 31 of each year, the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission will send you a form 1099-G with the amount of benefits you received the prior year. You may elect to have federal and state taxes withheld from your weekly unemployment benefits. If you choose to have taxes withheld, federal taxes of 10% and state taxes of 3% will be deducted from the gross amount of your payment each week.

Back to Top