Tragically, distracted driving is a trending issue. In 2015 alone, nearly 3,500 people were killed and an additional 391,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers.
Distracted driving involves any activity that diverts your attention from the road, including:
- Texting or talking on the phone
- Eating and drinking
- Interacting with passengers
- Fiddling with the radio or navigation apps
Any action while driving can be dangerous. For many, texting presents the biggest risk because it takes your eyes off the road for 5 seconds on average. At 55 mph, that's enough time to cover the length of an entire football field!
In addition to its risks, texting while driving is also illegal. It could cost you $100 — or worse.
Safer roads start with you. Don't be driven to distraction.
Oklahoma law requires drivers to give their full attention to the road. Unfortunately for many Oklahomans, distracted driving is trending.
Distracted driving, which includes any activity that diverts attention from driving, can be very dangerous. In 2014 alone, more than 3,000 people were killed and an additional 431,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers nationwide.
While distracted driving can include eating and drinking, talking to people in your vehicle, or fiddling with the stereo, texting and driving is an increasingly dangerous issue. Your risk of crashing increases greatly when driving while texting or dialing cell phones.
As of 2015, it is illegal to text while driving in Oklahoma, with a potential penalty of $100. Commercial drivers or public transit drivers are additionally prohibited from making hand-held phone calls while driving.
Did you know: In just 3 seconds on the highway, your car travels the length of one football field? Click here for more videos.