Cosmetology means any one or combination of practices generally and usually performed by and known as the occupation of beauticians, beauty culturists, beauty operators, cosmeticians, cosmetologists, or hairdressers, or any other person holding himself or herself out as practicing cosmetology by whatever designation and within the meaning of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act and in or upon whatever place or premises.
Cosmetology shall include, but not limited to, any one or combination of the following practices: bleaching, cleansing, curling, cutting, coloring, dressing, removing, singeing, styling, waving or similar work upon the hair of any person by any means, whether with hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances. Nothing in the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act shall be construed to prohibit the use of hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances for the non-permanent removal of hair from the human body without puncturing of the skin or the use of stimulating exercising, beautifying or similarly working the scalp, face, neck, arms or the manicuring of the nails of any person, exclusive of such of the foregoing practice as are within the scope of practice of the healing arts as provided by law.
License & Fees Details
- One year renewal required on the last day of birth month annually.
- Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
- License Renewal Fee - $25.00
- Late Penalty (License expired over two months) - $10.00
- Lost Renewal form (Renewal forms are mailed attached to license) - $5.00