Skip to main content

Curbing Underage Tobacco Sales: Latest Oklahoma Synar Report Shows Progress

Wednesday, November 01, 2023

ODMHSAS' latest Synar results reveal most Oklahoma businesses refuse to sell tobacco to those under 21 years old. 86.4% of Oklahoma businesses helped stop sales and are operating within compliance. This marks a significant improvement compared to the previous year, which saw a compliance rate of 79.8%.

Notably, this year’s results highlight the lowest violation rate since Fiscal Year 2020 when compliance rates stood at 86.8%, indicating a sustained positive trend in combating underage tobacco sales.

Certain densely populated regions, including the Oklahoma City and Tulsa areas, have made substantial strides in reducing violation rates compared to the previous year. These findings underscore the success of efforts in these areas to ensure the responsible sale of tobacco products and safeguard against underage access. The annual Synar reports detail trends in sales of tobacco to minors and the success of state compliance with the Synar Amendment.

In July 1992, Congress enacted the Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration Reorganization Act (PL 102-321), which includes an amendment (section 1926) aimed at decreasing youth access to tobacco. This amendment, named for its sponsor, Congressman Mike Synar of Oklahoma, requires states to enact and enforce laws prohibiting the sale or distribution of tobacco products to individuals under the age of 18.

States are required to have a compliance rate of at least 80 percent (or a non-compliance rate of no more than 20 percent) regarding the sale of tobacco products to minors and must demonstrate compliance to receive their full Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) award.

These results are a testament to the collaborative efforts of government agencies, retailers, and communities in upholding the law and protecting our youth. The continued dedication to maintaining high compliance rates is vital in our commitment to curbing underage tobacco sales.

Carrie Slatton-Hodges, Commissioner of ODMHSAS, commended these achievements, stating, “These results are a testament to the collaborative efforts of government agencies, retailers, and communities to protect our youth. We are proud of the progress made in Oklahoma and remain committed to ensuring our state remains a model of responsibility in tobacco sales.”

For more information regarding SYNAR, reach out to Lauren Kidwell at

To report retailer sales to youth please call the ABLE Hotline at (405) 521-2029 or (833) 681-1895. ABLE inspects every establishment reported for violations. 

For more information about the Tobacco Help Line please visit, 1-800-Quit Now.

ODMHSAS Communications

Back to Top