Oklahoma Work Permit Instruction Guide for Schools
Information for Schools
In accordance with Title 40 Section 79 of the Oklahoma Statutes, the issuing officer is the principal, headmaster, or equivalent administrative officer of the school. If the minor is being home-schooled, the parent or guardian becomes the issuing officer and will need to be directed to https://sde.ok.gov/home-school to retrieve the work permit forms. In accordance with Title 40 Section 79 of the Oklahoma Statutes, the issuing officer CANNOT issue a work permit to minors UNDER 14 years. In accordance with Title 70 Section 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes, the issuing officer CANNOT issue a work permit to minors who do not meet the compulsory school attendance.
In accordance with Title 40 Section 80 of the Oklahoma Statutes, the work permit forms should be provided through the Oklahoma State Department of Education, not the Oklahoma Department of Labor, to wit: "(T)he blank forms for school attendance certificate and for the age and schooling certificate shall be supplied to the principal, headmaster, or equivalent administrative officer of the school or to one of the child's parents if the child is being schooled at home BY THE SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION as hereinafter indicated." (Emphasis added.)
Information for Employers
Before employment begins, employers are responsible for having 14- and 15-year-old minors obtain an Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling (Form 601 aka work permit) from their school’s issuing officer. Minors 16 years of age and older are not required under state law to get a work permit.
Form 600 (Application to Secure Certificate of Age and Schooling for Employment)
Form 601 (Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling aka work permit)
- The principal will go into https://sdeweb01.sde.ok.gov/SSO2/Signin.aspx and then into Links and Docs.
- The principal will print Form 600, certify age and attendance, and give to the student.
- The student section, parent/guardian section, and employer section will need to be completed on the Form 600. Do not give out the Form 601 until the Form 600 is completed.
- The student then returns the completed Form 600 to the principal.
- The principal will complete Form 601; then print, sign and give one copy of the form to the student to take to the employer.
- The principal will fax one copy of the Form 601 to the Oklahoma Department of Labor at 405.521.6015 and retain one copy with Form 600 in the school district's records for five years.
Summer Months - If the school is closed during the summer months, the superintendent in the school district is available year round to issue the Form 600 and Form 601.
Download a pdf of these instructions here. (Updated 7/18/2022)
Oklahoma State Department of Education
School Personnel Records
Oklahoma Department of Labor
Child Labor Unit