Skip to main content

Landscape Architectural License Applications


In order to become a licensed Landscape Architect in the state of Oklahoma, you must meet the criteria for education, examination, and experience, which can be found in OAC 55:10-5-8, or meet the requirements for equivalent standards, which can be found in OAC 55:10-5-8.1.

All Oklahoma licenses - individual and firm - expire on June 30th of every odd year.

Education: The applicant must have completed a professional degree from an LAAB-accredited university in landscape architecture or an equivalent educational program.

Examination: The applicant must have passed all sections of the LARE.

Experience: The applicant must provide evidence of three years of training credits under the responsible control of a licensed Landscape Architect.

*ATTENTION: Initial licensure means that the applicant has not applied for licensure in any other state. If you already have a license in any state, you will be applying for Reciprocal licensure.*

TYPE OF LICENSE APPLICATION DOCUMENTS TO BE SUBMITTED WITH THE ONLINE APPLICATION DOCUMENTS TO BE SENT TO THE BOARD OFFICE FEES
Landscape Architect Exam Candidate- Equivalent Standards only

INS Citizenship Form

Passport- Quality Photo

Start a CLARB Record

Official College Transcript (if applicable)

Testing Fee: $50
Initial License- after L.A.R.E. exams are complete

INS Citizenship Form

Passport- Quality Photo

Act & Rules Exam

Plant Materials Exam (Refer to "Know It and Grow It," Version 2 or 3 by Dr. Carl Whitcomb)

CLARB Record or

Work/Training References (3 years total)

Application Fee: $100

Licensing Fee: $325

Initial License Equivalent Standards- after L.A.R.E exams are complete Please contact Ellen White (ellen.white@boardofarch.ok.gov) before proceeding.
Reciprocal License- with
CLARB Record

INS Citizenship Form

Passport- Quality Photo

Act & Rules Exam

Plant Materials Exam (Refer to "Know It and Grow It," Version 2 or 3 by Dr. Carl Whitcomb)

CLARB Record

Application Fee: $100

Licensing Fee: $325

Reciprocal License- without CLARB Record

INS Citizenship Form

Passport- Quality Photo

Act & Rules Exam

Plant Materials Exam (Refer to "Know It and Grow It," Version 2 or 3 by Dr. Carl Whitcomb)

Official College Transcript

Work/Training References

Certified LARE Scores

Application Fee: $100

Licensing Fee: $325

Request for Determination as to Whether Criminal History will affect Licensure

**For licenses that were cancelled due to non-renewal, reinstatement applications can be found in the Application Portal. Please contact Ellen White at ellen.white@boardofarch.ok.gov for questions about reinstatements.**

Fee for Low-Income Individual:
Upon presentation of satisfactory evidence that an applicant is a low-income individual, the Board will grant a one-time, one-year waiver of any fees associated with the license or registration. To learn more about it, please contact the Board office.

Make sure to add oba@thentiacloud.net to your approved/safe senders list to ensure that you receive all emails sent during the application process.

Last Modified on May 09, 2024
Back to Top