Skip to main content

About Us

Norman “Buddy” Thomas, who is deaf, owns Tree of Liberty Bladecraft and Forge and has handcrafted more than 200 knives and other weapons.

What we do

The Oklahoma Department of Rehabilitation Services (DRS) expands opportunities for employment, independent life and economic self-sufficiency by helping Oklahomans with disabilities bridge barriers to success in the workplace, school and at home.

To connect to the DRS office in your area call 800.487.4042 or visit our Office Locator page.

DRS is comprised of five program divisions, Vocational Rehabilitation, Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired, Disability Determination, Oklahoma School for the Blind and Oklahoma School for the Deaf. These divisions operate dozens of programs that help Oklahomans lead more independent and productive lives.

DRS also relies on Support Services to handle administrative functions. Support Services comprises of the Executive, Financial Services and Management Services .
 
Check out our Disability Resource Guide, which shares program descriptions and contact information designed to help Oklahomans solve disability-related problems.

Oklahoma Disability Statistics

Putting it into Perspective
The Prevalence of Disability in Oklahoma

State Holidays for 2021

All Oklahoma Department of Rehabilitation Services offices will be closed on the following dates:

  • Fri., Jan. 1, for New Year's Day
  • Mon., Jan. 18, for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Mon., Feb. 15, for Presidents Day
  • Mon., May 31, for Memorial Day
  • Mon., July 5, for Independence Day
  • Mon., Sept. 6, for Labor Day
  • Thurs., Nov. 11,  for Veterans Day
  • Thurs. & Fri., Nov. 25 & 26, for Thanksgiving
  • Thurs. & Fri., Dec. 23 & 24, for Christmas

State Holidays for 2022

All Oklahoma Department of Rehabilitation Services offices will be closed on the following dates:

  • Fri., Dec. 31, for New Year's Day
  • Mon., Jan. 17, for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Mon., Feb. 21, for Presidents Day
  • Mon., May 30, for Memorial Day
  • Mon., July 4, for Independence Day
  • Mon., Sept. 5, for Labor Day
  • Fri., Nov. 11, for Veterans Day
  • Thurs. & Fri., Nov. 24 & 25, for Thanksgiving
  • Mon. & Tues., Dec. 26 & 27, for Christmas
Back to Top