Skip to main content

Meet the Board Members

Section 2-7-101 of title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes authorizes the Board of Juvenile Affairs (Board) as the governing body for The Office of Juvenile Affairs (OJA). The Board consists of nine members, five members appointed by the Governor, two members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and two members appointed by the Speaker of the House; all members serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority. 

The Board meets monthly in a manner consistent with the Oklahoma Open Meeting Act, see see 25 O.S. § 301 et seq. The Board of Juvenile Affairs was created February 1, 1995. 

The Board of sets broad policy for and is the rule-making body for OJA. The board is responsible for reviewing and approving the budget, assisting the agency in planning activities related to the priorities and policies of the agency, providing a public forum for receiving comments and disseminating information to the public, and establishing contracting procedures for the agency and guidelines for rates of payment for services provided by contract.

Karen Youngblood

Karen Youngblood, of Oklahoma City, chief leaning officer at One Agents Alliance (OAA) specializing in organization development and educational leadership and former executive director of customized education at the University of Central Oklahoma. Appointed by Governor Kevin Stitt.

Dr. Stephen Grissom

Dr. Stephen Grissom, of Tulsa, psychologist and colleague instructor, and former chief psychologist at the L.E Rader Center and former chief psychologist at the Office of Juvenile Affairs. Appointed by Governor Kevin Stitt.

Dr. Mautra S. Jones

Mautra S. Jones, of Oklahoma Cityvice president for institutional advancement and external affairs at Langston University and executive director of the Langston University Foundation. Appointed by Governor Kevin Stitt.

Honorable Janet Foss

Honorable Janet Foss, of Norman, retired special district judge for Cleveland County, and has worked with juveniles in many capacities during her career, including as a social worker, assistant district attorney and juvenile judge. Appointed by Governor Kevin Stitt.

Jenna Worthen

Jenna Worthen, of Oklahoma City, chief executive officer of James Martin Company, and has spent more than a decade crafting strategic communications and implementing development strategy for Oklahoma-based nonprofits and candidates for public office as well as having extensive experience in community-partner development for the benefit of youth in Oklahoma state custody. Appointed by House Speaker Charles McCall.

Dr. Amy Emerson

Dr. Amy Emerson, of Tulsa, has worked with the families of Tulsa Educare since 2008 where she oversees community outreach programs, and serves as medical consultant for several early learning centers in Tulsa, and is actively involved in advocacy work to support children living in foster care. Appointed by Governor Kevin Stitt.

Timothy Tardibono

Timothy Tardibono, of Bethany, executive director of the Oklahoma County Criminal Justice Advisory Council and served as counsel to former U.S. Senator Tom Coburn and as assistant general counsel at the Oklahoma Department of Health. Appointed by Senate President Pro Tempore Greg Treat.

Dr. Sidney Ellington

Sidney Ellington, of Oklahoma City, a retired Navy SEAL officer, has over a decade of experience in the field of education, most of which has been spent working with underserved youth.  In 2010 he joined Teach for America (TFA) and spent the next four years working in K-12 education in the city of New Orleans during the height of the education reform movement.  His TFA assignment was at an alternative charter school for underserved students that had been disengaged from education. After spending three years at the school level, he took a position in 2013 as a Program Manager for the Louisiana Department of Education’s Recovery School District.  For the next 12 months, Dr. Ellington worked to spearhead the Superintendent’s Truancy Improvement Initiative, the result of which laid the groundwork for the city’s current Youth Opportunity Center.  In 2014 he accepted a role with TFA’s National Staff in Washington, DC, where he served as the Director of TFA’s Veteran Initiative.  In 2015 he took the helm of the Warrior-Scholar Project, which helps enlisted service members—most of whom are first generation college students—transition from the military to higher education.  In 2018 he and his wife Toni returned to their home state of Oklahoma.  Dr. Ellington holds a Ph.D. from the University of Oklahoma and currently serves as the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Red Cross’ Central/Southwest Chapter, an area that encompasses 13 counties.  In 2016, Dr. Ellington was selected as the recipient of the highly prestigious American Legion’s National Education Award.  Previous winners of this award include Fred Rogers, Barbara Bush, Tom Brokaw, Laura Bush, and Bob Keeshan. Dr. Ellington was appointed to the OJA Board of Directors by Senate Pro-Tempore Greg Treat.

Bartlett Bouse

Bartlett Bouse, of Woodward, has practiced general law at his personal firm, Bouse Law Firm, in Woodward, since July 1999. Before that, he was an assistant district attorney in the district attorney’s office in Woodward, handling felonies, misdemeanors, and all the juvenile delinquent and deprived cases for over five years. He served as a board member of Western Plains Youth and Family Services from 1997 to 2021, including as president of the board. He has been a member of the Woodward County Post Adjudication Review Board for over 15 years.  He was a commissioner of the Oklahoma Commission on Children and Youth, appointed by then-Gov. Frank Keating in 1998, serving as chairman from 2002 through 2013. Bouse lives in Woodward with his wife, Angie, and has two daughters, Jillian and Ella. Appointed by House Speaker Charles McCall.

Back to Top