Skip to main content

Out-of-State Background Checks

Background Checks for:

Related Links

Find contact information and requirements for the out-of-state checks below

If an individual has lived outside of Oklahoma during the previous 5 years, the following out-of-state background checks may be required for each state:

  • Name-based criminal history check (NB)
  • Child Abuse and Neglect Information Search (CANIS)
  • Sex Offender Registry  (SOR)

A search of a state’s criminal history repository by the individual’s name, and all aliases. The name-based background check is required, in addition to fingerprinting, to complete a comprehensive criminal history background check.  

This search is required for all non-National Fingerprint File (NFF) states. Twenty-eight states do not report criminal history to the FBI--unless they have collected fingerprints from the individual for the specific charges.

*Please note some states require fingerprint cards be submitted for "Name based" criminal history searches, these are generally closed record states. Additionally, several states will not share criminal history for employment or for non-criminal justice purposes. In these cases, OBI simply needs confirmation that the effort was made for those states.

A search of a state’s Sex Offender Registry. OBI completes this search for all request types.

There are 22 states for which OBI does not require a name-based criminal history background check, as these states participate in the National Fingerprint File (NFF) program with the FBI.

  • When the FBI queries an NFF state, the state responds with all criminal history attached to the individual’s personal identifiers and their biometric fingerprint results.
  • When the FBI queries a non-NFF state, the state only responds with criminal history attached to a biometric fingerprint result.

Currently, the following states are NFF states: Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

More information on NFF states.