340:10-13-1. School attendance
(a) School attendance requirement. Regular school attendance is a Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) eligibility condition for each child eligible for kindergarten through 18 years of age unless the child is home educated, per the Oklahoma constitution and Section 230.66 of Title 56 of the Oklahoma State Statutes (56 O.S. § 230.66). High school equivalency (HSE), alternative high schools, or virtual schools meet this requirement. • 1
(1) When the worker determines that a school age child receiving TANF is not attending school regularly, the TANF cash assistance must be reduced by 25 percent of the payment standard, per Section 604(i) of Title 42 of the United States Code, 56 O.S. § 230.52(c)(3), and Oklahoma Administrative Code 340:10-3-57(g).
(2) The 25 percent penalty is removed the next effective date after the parent or caretaker relative provides verification the child is attending school. • 2 At application and at each renewal, the worker verifies regular school attendance for each child in the family. • 3
(b) Requirement for children who are 18 years of age. • 4
(1) An otherwise eligible child who is 18 years of age is included in the assistance unit if he or she is a full time secondary school student, attending HSE classes, an alternative high school, or a virtual school and expects to graduate before or during the month he or she turns 19 years of age.
(2) A child turning 18 years of age who is not expected to graduate during, or before the month the child turns 19 years of age, is eligible only through the month he or she reaches 18 years of age.
1. A virtual school describes an institution that teaches courses entirely or primarily through online methods.
2. When compliance occurs after deadline, the worker issues a supplement for the next month. Refer to Oklahoma Administrative Code 340:10-3-57(g) for more information regarding benefit reductions due to program violations.
3. The worker completes Form 08AD010E, School Attendance Verification, and sends it to the school to verify attendance. When the child attends a virtual school, acceptable verification are documents showing proof of enrollment and attendance reports.
4. (a) County Worker Activity (CWA) Report 14 runs at the first of each month, and lists all cases where a child’s age at his or her next birthday may affect eligibility for benefits. The case number and name of the child appears on the report two months before he or she turns 18 or 19 years of age and remains on report until the month following the child’s birthday.
(b) When the child's name appears on the report, the worker determines when the child is expected to graduate. When the child already graduated, will graduate the month he or she turns 18 years of age, or is not expected to graduate before or during the month he or she turns 19, the worker removes the child's needs from the cash assistance benefit the month after the child reaches 18 years of age. When the child is expected to graduate before or during the month he or she turns 19 years of age, the worker waits to remove the child from the cash assistance benefit until the month after he or she turns 19 years of age.