Skip to main content

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)/Airport Concessionaire (ACDBE) Certification

The Certification Process is to ensure that only qualified small businesses that are independently owned and controlled by one or more socially and economically disadvantaged persons are certified for this program. Once you are certified, your firm's information will also be in the DBE Certified Directory Database. The bidders on projects must use certified DBE(s) from this Directory to meet project goals.

View the DBE Checklist here.

Click here to apply for DBE/ACDBE certifications.
(An email account is required to apply.Click here to set up an email account if you do not have one.)

Already certified as a DBE/ACDBEwith ODOT? View instructions on helpful tips:

What is a DBE?

In order to qualify to participate as a DBE/ACDBE, a firm must meet these qualifications:

  1. The firm is a for-profit business that performs or seeks to perform transportation related work (for a concession activity) for a recipient of Federal Transit Administration, Federal Highway Administration, or Federal Aviation Administration funds.
  2. It must be 51% owned and controlled by individuals who are socially and economically disadvantaged.
  3. The firm'sdisadvantaged owners are U.S. citizens or lawfully admitted permanent residents of the U.S.
  4. It must be a small business, as defined by the Small Business Administration’s regulations and does not exceed $26.29million in gross annual receipts for DBE($56.42million for ACDBEs).(Other size standards apply for ACDBE that are banks/financial institutions, car rental companies, pay telephone firms, and automobile dealers.)

Who is a DBE?

Socially and economically disadvantaged individuals are those individuals who are citizens of the United States (or lawfully admitted permanent residents) and who are:

  1. Black Americans, i.e., persons having origins in any of the Black racial groups of Africa.
  2. Hispanic Americans, i.e., persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central or South America, or of Spanish, or Portuguese origin.
  3. Native Americans, i.e., persons who are American Indians, Eskimo, Aleuts, or Native Hawaiians.
  4. Asian-Pacific Americans, i.e., persons of Japanese, Chinese, Taiwanese, Korean, Vietnamese, Laotian, Cambodian, Filipino, Samoan, Guamanian, Northern Merianas, and the U.S. Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands origin.
  5. Asian-Indian Americans, i.e., persons of Indian, Pakistani, or Bangladesh origin.
  6. Women

Types of Work

When applying for DBE Certification, you must indicate the type of work your firm is capable of performing. You must be able to verify that you can control the firm with respect to the type of work. The general work categories are:

Paving- includes concrete paving, asphalt paving, and concrete incidentals.

Grading and Drainage- includes surface course, clearing and grubbing, excavation, demolition, removal, base and subbase course, and bedding materials.

Structures- includes bridges, retaining walls, roadway structures, and buildings.

Erosion Control- includes sodding, seeding, temporary erosion control, landscaping, mulching.

Fencing and Guardrail- includes right-of-way fencing and guardrail placement.

Material Suppliers- includes suppliers of aggregates, fence, etc.

Hauling- trucking firms and owner-operators.

Traffic Control- includes signs, barricades, markers, devices, etc. Construction Staking.

Professional Services- includes engineering, architectural, right-of-way, urban planning, surveying, construction inspection, etc.

Other Construction Specialties- miscellaneous not elsewhere classified.

Last Modified on Dec 15, 2022
Back to Top