44,000 households to get $25 fee letter
Library: News Release
OKLAHOMA CAPITOL--- Wednesday the Oklahoma Child Support Services Division of the Oklahoma Department of Human Services will mail a letter to 44,000 households regarding a new annual $25 federal fee to start in February.
The Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 requires states to pay $25 per qualifying case each year. OCSS paid the fee for its customers until Sept. 30, 2009. Due to continuing state budget shortfalls, OCSS can no longer afford to cover the federal fee on its customers’ behalf.
“Oklahoma agencies were ordered to cut five percent from their operating budgets when state revenue fell below estimates,” said Gary W. Dart, division director for OCSS. “We hope the $25 federal fee is easier on the families we serve than cutting services would have been.”
Customers may learn more by visiting the annual fee FAQ page or calling CARE toll-free at 1-800-522-2922.
Check the OCSS original announcement made in December for more detailed information.